Running Update #12: Running Updates Again!

(For those of you who are new to my blog, I used to write Running Updates every week when I was training for a half marathon early this year. I stopped when I got injured but started training for a marathon soon after. I didn’t continue with the updates because I didn’t want to jinx it. That ended with a broken toe and I decided screw it…I just want to talk about running baby!)

Oh yeah. I’m wearing real shoes on both feet and running again bi-atches!!

First of all…oh man I missed running. I love it so much-it felt so goddamn good to get back out there again.

So technically I haven’t run since August because one thing I didn’t share was I got slightly injured while marathon training with IT Band problems. Booooo. I was getting ready to get back into training again when the toe brewhaha happened so it’s been almost three months since a true run! I couldn’t run until I was ready to put a true shoe on my right foot. This is what I have been wearing.
Photobucket

Nice combo, huh!? The break was pretty much healed but it was still incredibly tender on top with no nail and from the cut. Ewww. Also, it was still quite swollen and anything but my ugly surgical boot or flipflops felt tight. If there are enough requests I’ll post a pic of what my toe looks like now. About 3 weeks ago, I was toying with the idea of putting a real shoe on but was nervous so I put if off. Then, on Marathon Sunday, as mentioned earlier, it was so cold and windy. I didn’t want to expose my poor foot to the elements so I sucked it up and slipped on my loosest Chuck’s. It was a little tight but totally livable. Awesome! So, now that I could wear a shoe, it was time to start thinking about running. And it happened sooner that I ever thought.

On the morning of the election, I needed to go to the gym early if I was going to be able to park my butt on the couch all night watching returns. So, when I left my apartment at 4:45 in the morning (sacrifices people) I was planning on recumbant biking-it. When I got to the gym at 4:51 in the morning all of a sudden I was hit with the desire to try out the treadmill. Must have been election day excitement. So I hopped on the treadmill, telling myself that I would get off immediately if my toe hurt, and got going. 35 minutes or so later, I ran my first 4 miles since August. And it was awesome. I honestly think there is no workout like a good run. I always feel like I get so much out of a run versus the same amount of time on an elliptical machine. It felt good…sooo good.

A week and a half later, I’ve run 5 more times, including a fantastic 7-miler yesterday morning and my first race this morning since March. MARCH!!!! It was the Race to Deliver 4-miler. I didn’t really know what to expect considering I hadn’t raced for so long. But I was excited…man I love racing.

It was a crazy windy morning and I lined up early with my group to try to hide from the viscous winds by surrounding myself with tall people in a corral. Not that hard considering my height. I wasn’t sure how I was going to approach this race…normally I just run races to run them…I treat them like just another run, nothing special. But, as I was waiting for the start, I thought that maybe I would really race. Like push myself race. And from the second I crossed the start line, I felt it in me and just went off. The first mile was pretty good although it was hilly so it wasn’t my best time. Cat Hill is the biggest hill in this loop and is in that first mile, so I wasn’t expecting a stellar time. However, I enjoy running hills so pushed myself and ran about a 8:30 mile. Not bad for a hilly mile! (FYI-my pace in the past has been a consistent 8:30-9:00 min/mile for 4 mile races). Then the second mile started and I knew I could really get a good time. It’s a mostly fast mile going up north along the 5th ave side of the park. I really pushed myself, helped greatly by a girl who was running by me also running fast-I was trying desperately to beat her. We were neck and neck the entire time…thanks blond girl in the shorts and Norwegian Run shirt! That second mile I hat a sub-8 min/mile time! Maybe around 7:55. Nice! Not gonna lie though, I was getting tired. Mile 3 is hilly (west side hills) but I didn’t want that girl to beat me! So I just kept pushing and pushing, racing down the downhills and doing short, strong strides up the uphill. It was hard but fun passing all those people. The last mile was pretty flat again so I just pushed it. I knew I only had 1 mile left so I had no reason to hold back. And push it I did. I was actually incredibly nauseous by the very end because I’m not used to pushing myself so much. But it was worth it-I ended with anther sub-8 minute mile! What a thrill! My time was 33 minutes-by far my fastest yet. Oh-but that girl beat me…not by much though. I ended up next to her when I was getting my timing chip cut off my shoe and I thanked her for pushing me. She told me I did the same to her! Hahaha-I LOVE racing.

It was a perfect reintroduction into racing and made me love it all over again. Up next-Turkey Trot!! A great 5-miler with my Dad and sister on Thanksgiving morning next week in Downtown Cleveland. Last year it was this nasty freezing rain snow weird mix with intense winds off the lake…lets hope for better rain this time around. It will give me an excuse to have no reservations of eating buckets of stuffing that afternoon. Stuffing…

(totally off-topic, but for any New Yorkers, I ended up at the New Museum on my way home from the race this morning to see the Elizabeth Peyton exhibit. Amazing. So amazing. Please see it. You won’t regret it)

Ciao Bellas!

9 Responses to “Running Update #12: Running Updates Again!”


  1. 1 chandra November 16, 2008 at 11:18 pm

    Hooray for running again!! Excellent job with the race!!

  2. 2 Alice (in Veganland) November 17, 2008 at 4:23 am

    Oh, how I missed your running updates! It’s like working out but without the sweating! Now I feel like running again. I have a question though. How can you run in the cold in NYC? how do you cover your ears? My ears get cold very fast and then it hurts so much I want to cry…

  3. 3 VeggieGirl November 17, 2008 at 7:51 am

    Thank goodness you’re able to run again, Betsy!!! Great reintroduction, indeed. Take care! :-)

  4. 4 Erin November 17, 2008 at 10:54 am

    Yay! I’m so glad your body is responding well.

  5. 5 maggiescamera November 17, 2008 at 8:05 pm

    Four (miles) for you glen coco, you go glen coco. (If you dont get that I am ashamed to call you my sister.

    Yay on your four mile race and your awesome time for it but get ready to taste my dust at the turkey trot (just kidding)

  6. 6 Lindsay November 17, 2008 at 8:08 pm

    i LOVE how you thanked her :)

    go you!!!

  7. 7 Lisa from CA November 18, 2008 at 7:59 pm

    It’s SOOOO good to hear that you’ve started running again! I’ve been on and of running to because of IT band issues. The foam roller has become my best friend. I bring it to the gym so I don’t skimp out on it.

    By the way, I’m visiting NYC in a couple of weeks. Aside from the exhibit you mentioned, any other recommendations??

  8. 8 Leng November 20, 2008 at 12:20 am

    HI Betsy! Yes you are right it has been FAR too long!! Hope all is well with you.

  9. 9 runningwithfood November 20, 2008 at 7:34 am

    You’ve got the fever! I totally agree with you – there is NO other workout like a good run. There’s such a great high when you can just go …

    Hope you continue to get better and better! Have a great day!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

