Curry Chickpea Deliciousness

 chickpeasc-copy.jpg

One of my favorite things to make is a big stew or soup on a Sunday, and then eat it for the next 3 or 4 nights. If you get bored with food easily, this isn’t for you, but I make things I LOVE, so this is great for me, and it’s great for the budget too!! I made this recipe up one day last year with some chickpeas that I had in my cupboard, and now it’s one of my favs. And its soooooo easy!

Curry Chickpeas
2-3 cloves of garlic
1 largish yellow onion
1 large can of whole tomatoes
1 small can of crushed tomatoes
2 cans of chickpeas
chili powder
yellow curry powder
red curry powder
salt, pepper, olive oil

Chop the garlic and onion (I like “half moon” onions-chopping the onion in half then slicing fairly thin) and saute in olive oil until soft and a little brown in a large pot (I prefer a dutch oven). In the meantime, chop the whole tomatoes into about 6 pieces each. Save the juice!! When the onions are soft and brownish (about 7 minutes), pour in the chopped tomatoes, the crushed tomatoes and the juice from the whole tomatoes. Add the 2 cans of chickpeas that have been rinsed (get off that extra sodium!!) and stir it all together. Add water to the desired thickness of the stew while remembering that some of the liquid is going to evaporate. Add about 2 teaspoons of chili powder, and LOTS of yellow and red curry powder. About a tablespoon of both, but you can use how much you want. Taste it before you add more so it’s not too hot for you. Stir it all together, along with some salt and pepper, cover, turn the heat to LOW, and simmer for about 45 minutes. The longer it cooks, the more the flavors will fuse together. Serve in a bowl while steaming hot. Makes about 4 servings.

I like to top it with a little basmati rice to add some more texture. So delish!!
chickpeasa-copy.jpg

4 Responses to “Curry Chickpea Deliciousness”


  1. 1 VeggieGirl February 21, 2008 at 3:56 pm

    oooh, that curry chickpea dish looks quite lovely! I love spicy meals :0)

  2. 2 Betsy February 21, 2008 at 5:20 pm

    it is quite spicy and quite yummy. and every time i make it fills my apartment with an amazing smell (well, amazing if you like curry).

  3. 3 hk February 21, 2008 at 5:46 pm

    holyyyy moley! looks great! I can’t wait to try🙂 cute site, thanks!


Leave a Reply

