Sweeeet!!! Potatoes

First of all, fellow New Yorkers (all…zero of you): insane snow out there!!! And my office closed at 11 so I got to go home super early. Although it was GORGEOUS outside when I was walking to work. I had a blast stomping through the snow!

On to food. Sweet potatoes!!
sweet-copy.jpg
This is sooo simple, it’s not really a recipe or anything. Its just delicious and healthy and full of vitamins and happiness. And sunshine and rainbows.

I roast mine in the oven for about an hour or so at high heat-like 450. Make sure you poke the potato with a fork so it doesn’t explode and you spend the next 8000 days cleaning your oven of sweet potato that should have been in your stomach.

When it’s alllll done, top it with whatever you so desire. I like to think of sweet potatoes as the oatmeal of savory foods. You can top it with pretty much whatever you want. I got the black beans idea from Kath, and I haven’t been able to ween myself away from them yet. So delish.

How I make mine: I split open the potato and drizzle the inside with a bit of really good olive oil. Then I sprinkle it with salt, pepper, chili powder and crushed red pepper flakes. Then i put a heaping scoop of black beans on top, and top all that with olive oil, salt, pepper, chili power and crpf (if you didn’t get that, its crushed red pepper flakes), cause I like lots of flavor throughout. Mmmmmmmm.

I ate this one last night when I was soooo hungry after coming home from the gym. I was making cookies for my friend’s birthday (Homemade Oreos….oh yeah….that’s another post), and thought this would be easy to pop into the oven at the same time. I was a little nervous the cookies would taste like sweet potatoes, or the sweet potato would taste like cookies, but thankfully I had no flavor interaction. Each was individually delicious. Or magically delicious. Like Lucky Charms.

3 Responses to “Sweeeet!!! Potatoes”


  1. 1 VeggieGirl February 22, 2008 at 11:49 pm

    I’m not in New York, but the snow here is insane as well – stay warm!

    Wow, that sweet potato looks fantastic!! I love the idea of tossing black beans on top – yum!

  2. 2 Katie February 23, 2008 at 12:36 am

    Yum. That’s one of my favorite mini-meals. It’s like an enchilada of sweet potato instead of tortilla. Or oatmeal–like you said🙂.
    I look forward to more recipes. Such as the homemade oreos…?

  3. 3 hk February 23, 2008 at 12:41 am

    looks fantastic! totally one of my favorite quick and reliable go to meals…top with a nice spoonful of salsa, perfection!!


Leave a Reply

