WARNING: This is not healthy food

But that doesn’t mean it’s off limits😉
oreos_all-copy.jpg

My father is addicted to Oreos.  Growing up, we always had them in the house (and an extra, unopened package incase we ran out and someone couldn’t get to the store fast enough), and everytime I go home, they’re still there, in the same glass jar with the yellow lid, calling out to me.  Every night when he walks the dogs before bed, he takes about 6 with him to munch on during the walk.  A walk that takes about 5 minutes.  But, I guess he needs the extra fuel???  hmmm.   Lucky for him, my dad has a enviable metabolism, is a biker, former marathoner (got my love of running from him) and does triathalons, so he can eat all those Oreos.  I can’t.  They go straight to my hips (soooooooo cliche, i love it!), and I don’t like the fact that they have trans-fat.  But, because I grew up around them, I sure do love them.  I never buy them, but when I’m at home, they are really really hard to avoid.  Every trip back to Cleveland, I manage to leave with about 10 Oreos in my stomach.  It’s all your fault Dad.  All your fault!!!!!!! 

 But, I jest.  I originally saw this recipe from Deb a loooong time about, and really really wanted to try it.  (Oh-you better click on that link.  I’m not going to post the recipe so you look at her GORGEOUS blog.)  However, I have a rule about baking, that I only do it for an occasion.  I absolutely love love love to bake.  But, I never (anymore) will just bake something on a whim, or I’ll eat it all up.  I do, however, jump on the chance to make cakes, cookies and muffins for anyone’s birthday, a party, our work holiday party (my department threw our holiday party this year, and we got the regular food catered, but I volunteered to make dessert…for 70 or so people.  That was a really long weekend.)  Oh, and how do I make cookies and all these other baked goods while losing weight?  Especially as a cookie dough addict (hello, my name is betsy and I am…oh, shut up!!  enough with the cliches!!)? I made another rule, that when I bake something, I’m allowed a small cookie’s worth of dough, and I make a small cookie to eat after.  Amazingly, since i made that rule, I haven’t broken it!  It seems that that amount of dough is just as satisfying as gobs and gobs that cause intense nausea.  Well, one of my best friends announced that her birthday party was going to have a black & white theme and asked if I wanted to make dessert (but not a cake-she insisted on Buttercup).  Hello-black and white party-Oreos!!!  So, I finally had the occasion to make them, and man oh man, they turned out swimmingly.  Swimmingly, I say! 

I made the cookie part on Thursday night and froze them, because I wanted them to stay fresh and crispy for Saturday.  Then on Saturday, I made the cream while still in my running clothes (don’t worry, I didn’t sweat on the cookies or anything) and filled them.  I though filling them was going to take a while, but it was super speedy!! Overall, they were great.  The cookie was nice and crispy and not too sweet and the filling was super sweet, but not overwhelming, just like a real Oreo! And, at the party, they were quite a hit.  It seems my friend had told all the party-goers that I was making them, so expectations were high.  And, I’m (pretty) sure they didn’t disappoint! And I think they made the party even better.  They were almost entirely gone at the end of the night.  At least I think.  I was undeniably tipsy.  Yay for homemade nostalgia!!  Although, Oreos and champagne is not a combination I remember from when I was younger…

oreoabove-copy.jpg

oreoside-copy.jpg

 A couple of notes about the recipe:  you will see Deb’s note about the amount of sugar to use.  I agree with her that the cookie in an Oreo is not sweet, so I used 1 cup instead of 1.5 and it didn’t effect the cookies.  Also, I used exactly a teaspoon of dough for each cookie, filling my teaspoon and then scooping it out with my 1/2 teaspoon.  I could have used a little less dough, but what I did was fine.  Also, I wish I had flattened the cookies out a little more, cause, as you can see, they were thicker than an original Oreo, but still quite small.  A perfect little snack! And I used Spectrum shortening, cause I was nervous about using shortening in the first place and thought this would be the least harmful. Oh, and when I said I never buy Oreos, I was right.  The real one for the picture is from a pack my roommate bought about 2 months ago had has been sitting on top of the fridge since.  ewwww.

I broke my one cookie rule last night while watching the Oscars and ate one more while jumping up and down and screaming for my man Javier.  Ooooo, I love you Javier-I hope you know that.

I also made these too…delish. I forgot to type up the recipe, but if there is demand, I’ll post it.
marble-copy.jpg

14 Responses to “WARNING: This is not healthy food”


  1. 1 VeggieGirl February 25, 2008 at 7:26 pm

    homemade oreos… love it!! they almost look like mini whoopie pies :0D

  2. 2 chandra February 25, 2008 at 8:24 pm

    Oh my gosh those look delicious! I’m going to have to try making them!

    I like your blog, we seem to have a bit in common – I’ll be 25 in July, I’m also 5’2″, a frequent runner, and trying to lose some weight. And of course, I also have a HUGE love for food! 🙂 If you don’t mind me asking, how much are you trying to lose?

  3. 3 Betsy February 26, 2008 at 1:37 am

    veggie
    i know-from the pic they really look like mini whoopie pies, but, in actuality they look much smaller. and less fluffy. that doesn’t make them any less amazing though! i think you should develop a vegan version!

    chandra
    wow! we’re like almost the same…in different states. haha. I started at 142.5 (but I think I was slightly higher at my highest) and am trying to get to between 115 and 120.

  4. 4 chandra February 26, 2008 at 1:53 am

    Ha – too funny! I was 145 at my highest, 142 when I started training at the gym, and my goal is between 115 and 120 as well!! I’m at 131 right now, so I’m getting closer!!

  5. 5 arimcg February 26, 2008 at 8:56 pm

    Those look great, I can’t believe you did it!

    My dad always has oreos, too. In fact, my parent’s house is the best and worst place to come home to if you’re drunk. I’m talking ice cream cones, little candy bars, doritos, etc. Good for the munchies, bad for a diet.

  6. 6 Robin February 28, 2008 at 5:04 am

    Those look SOOOO good. Like, amazingly good. Those WILL be the next treat I bake.

  7. 7 Maran February 28, 2008 at 1:47 pm

    Hey Betsy! I thought I would write you back on your blog so we didn’t have to keep taking up space on Jenna’s! ha. I love that Gamekeeper’s is your “go to” place! It’s my go to place too! I love it when I go home and my dad doesn’t feel like cooking so he’ll just pack us all up and head down to the restaurant.

    I love Charlotte! I have only been living here since last summer but already it is home to me. You said you were coming back this summer?? Do you read Kath’s blog? She lives right across the street from me here. We should all go out to eat when you’re in town (if you have time of course)!!

    How are you liking living in Manhattan as opposed to quaint little NE Ohio???

  8. 8 Home Wall Art Decor June 21, 2013 at 3:50 am

    Do you have a spam problem on this blog; I also am a blogger,
    and I was curious about your situation; we have created some nice procedures
    and we are looking to trade solutions with other folks, be sure to shoot me an e-mail if
    interested.

  9. 9 miracle garcinia cambogia - youtube.com June 27, 2013 at 7:44 am

    Eye-catching portion of articles. I simply discovered your web site along with accession money to get which i enter reality beloved bank account ones weblog articles. Any way I’ll be subscribing to your own nourishes or simply We achievement you can get a chance to access frequently easily.

  10. 10 Florene July 23, 2013 at 6:52 pm

    Hello there I am so grateful I found your web site,
    I really found you by accident, while I was researching on Digg for something else, Regardless I am here now and would just like to say kudos for
    a incredible post and a all round enjoyable blog (I
    also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read it all at the moment but I have book-marked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the excellent job.

  11. 11 Garcinia Cambogia Extract Extract Side Effects July 23, 2013 at 8:42 pm

    It’s really a cool and useful piece of info. I’m glad that you shared this helpful info with
    us. Please stay us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

  12. 12 best way to build muscle and lose weight August 6, 2013 at 8:19 am

    I am sure this paragraph has touched all the internet users, its really really nice article on building up new
    web site.

  13. 13 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n05Swzin3xM August 13, 2013 at 10:15 am

    Pretty portion of content. I simply stumbled upon
    your web site and in accession capital to assert that I get actually
    enjoyed account your blog posts. Anyway I will be subscribing in your augment and even I
    achievement you access constantly quickly.

  14. 14 advanced Evo brain booster Vitamins June 30, 2014 at 6:13 pm

    Hi, alll is going welll here and ofcourse every onne is sharing facts,
    that’s really fine, keep up writing.


Leave a Reply

