The opposite of a Big Mac

I was so hungry all day yesterday.  Not just “I want to eat” where you’re not really hungry but just keep eating, it was “I am so hungry I need to eat NOW”…all day.  It was actually really annoying because I don’t have that happen often, and I couldn’t figure out why it was happening.  Maybe I ate less than I should have the day before?  No, I ate my normal planned food.  Maybe I worked out more than I normally do?  No, although on Tuesdays I do a tempo run, which always burns a little more calories than I do in a normal workout, but I’ve never had the ridiculous hunger I was feeling the day after.  Bad sleep?  Stress at work?  More “lifestyle” exercise (cleaning, walking around the city, etc.)? No, no (well, a little to the stress), and no!!  I would eat my lunch, and BAM, 1 hour later I was hungry.  WTF???  Does this ever happen to anyone?

Because of this incessant hunger, I started thinking about my dinner early.  Like, on my commute TO work early.  I already knew what I was making because I had to defrost a block of tofu, but I was thinking about how amazing it was going to be, and so tasty and satisfying.  I thought about it alllll day.  I almost started salivating at my desk, but I didn’t, cause that would be gross.  Ew.  However, because I kept thinking about it and dreaming about it and putting my dinner on a pedestal, I started getting nervous I was going to be disappointed by it. 

Thankfully, I didn’t!  I did, however, almost cut my roommate with a really really sharp knife while making it cause I was so excited and so hungry!  I think disappointment would have been much better than a bleeding to death roommate. 

And this is what I made:

tofubowl-copy.jpg

Isn’t it pretty?? Well, if you don’t like vegetables or tofu or quinoa, maybe not.  But, it sure was pretty to me.  And it tasted pretty! 

I do bowls of food like this everyone in a while with staples I have on hand.  I always have quinoa, always have frozen broccoli, always have tofu in the freezer.  And always have lots of spices, cause they make things spicy😉.  Here’s how I made each:

Tofu:  Cause a block of tofu is WAY too big for me to eat in just a few days, I always cut it into 4 even pieces, press out the water and freeze each individually.  Freezing it turns it yellow (the first time I saw it, I freaked out, cause it looked like a dog had gotten in to my freezer, peed on each piece, then sealed the bag back up and shut the door), but that goes away when you defrost it.  I cut it into about 6 smaller pieces and squeezed out the water, cause there is lots in it.  Then, I sprinkled each side LIBERALLY with chili power and red curry.  In a hot, non-stick pan, I seared the pieces, about 4 minutes a side.  It comes out really good, and slightly crispy cause the pieces are small, which I like.  Alot.

Broccoli:  Wow, you’re probably saying, I know how to cook broccoli.  Boil some water and steam it.  But no!  I have a secret!  See those seed things?  I always put carraway seeds in the water at the same time I fill the pot, and it makes the broccoli truely amazing.  I have no idea when or why I started doing this, but it sure makes it tasty! Only if you like carraway seeds.  Cause if you didn’t, it wouldn’t be tasty.  I only added 2 spears of broccoli, cause I added something I normally don’t have around…

Kale:  I had about half a bunch of kale leftover from the white bean and kale soup that I wanted to use.  I didn’t even chop it this time, just washed it and removed the stems and threw it into a pan with olive oil, salt and pepper.  While it’s cooking, toss pretty regularly with tongs to make sure all the kale it cooking.  It took about 10 minutes to get everything all wilty, but still bright green.  This was soooo good (like Teen Girl Squad…anyone?), and probably my favorite part. I must by kale more often.  Too bad it cost an arm and a leg.  Now I have only 1 arm and 1 leg.  Damn.

Quinoa: Man, I sure do love quinoa.  I first tried it (and heard of it) sometime when I started my job and got a quinoa salad from our cafe (before I brought my lunch EVERYDAY), and it was fun!  I researched it and realized the amazing, fantastic nutritional profile and tried it at home, and now know it is just so easy to cook!  I make it pretty regularly, and always have some on hand (also, it’s really cheap.  Maybe I can save money on that and buy back my arm and leg.)  This time, I made about 1/8th of a cup, and added a little more than 1/4 cup of water and a good, liberal sprinkle of cardamom.  When I’m eating quinoa plain, not in a salad or something, alot of times I’ll add a spice and today, cardamom sounded good.  And, you know what…it was!!!  Really good, in fact!

Overall, this was a huge success.  So delish, and all that anticipation throughout the day made it even better!  Any more ideas for fun bowls like this, let me know!  Now, I’m off to get hungry again.

10 Responses to “The opposite of a Big Mac”


  1. 1 SawSaw February 28, 2008 at 8:45 pm

    Do you rinse your quinoa?

  2. 2 Betsy February 28, 2008 at 9:23 pm

    nope. I’ve never had a problem with the “bitterness” that it is said to have. And, I’ve read that most quinoa nowadays is already rinsed, so it’s not really a problem.

  3. 3 chandra February 28, 2008 at 9:27 pm

    I know what you mean about days of non-stop hunger. I’ve had those before, and I too have NO idea why it happens. I guess sometimes our bodies just want a little more nourishment! 🙂

  4. 4 Meredith February 28, 2008 at 11:44 pm

    On the hunger thing – mine is almost always related to hormonal issues and a need for protein and iron.

    Looks great.

  5. 5 arimcg February 29, 2008 at 1:37 pm

    I have days like that too. I like the excuse to eat more🙂

  6. 6 VeggieGirl February 29, 2008 at 4:27 pm

    I have the opposite problem – I RARELY have an appetite, and have to remind myself to eat, haha. Your dish looks positively delectable!

  7. 7 Emma March 2, 2008 at 12:31 pm

    your tofu looks really good! I would eat that meal anyday!

  8. 8 Cara March 6, 2008 at 12:40 am

    I have that same hunger every once in awhile. Where I canNOT get enough and if I do not eat I get all jittery, or like I haven’t eaten in days, even though it has only been 15 minutes. One time it was because I was getting an ulcer though, weird.

    Thank you so much for explaining how to make all your food in laymen’s terms because I really need to know these things and it is embarassing sometimes asking my friends who do know how to cook. haha.

    You are awesome. Thanks for blogging!

  9. 9 Chocolatecoveredvegan March 6, 2008 at 3:50 pm

    Yum– great looking bowl meal :o)

  10. 10 http://www.iwannaliveonthebeach.com June 30, 2013 at 10:40 pm

    He/she will pinpoint all the things that you need when you plan to invest in condos
    miami south beach. You might think that you have on your house consider it as a
    buyer and take a good look at your home. You can paint some items with new colors so they can use as their primary residence or
    a vacation home. Today, pricing condos miami south beach
    for sale is both art and science.


Leave a Reply

