Lentejas

lentils_copy.jpg

Or, if you don’t speak Spanish, just lentils.

I studied abroad in Sevilla, Spain for part of my junior year of college and returned for a period of time after graduation to teach English. Before then, I hadn’t eaten lentils much. I’m sure I had them in a soup here or there, but I can’t think of one time when I had actively made lentils, ordered them or ate them at home or in the cafeteria. However, my señora liked to make them for my roommate and I frequently for lunch. I have no idea how she would cook them, but they were amazing: dark and creamy with carrots and peppers. I tried to copy it once a few month ago in a soup, but it wasn’t even close. I think I asked her how she made them, but either she wasn’t listening or I was butchering my Spanish or she was ignoring me and didn’t want to pass her super secret lentil recipe to some crazy American girl who wouldn’t leave her apartment (by the end of the semester, my roommate and I were convinced she hated us. As shown by the day she fed us oxtail, when she knows I don’t eat beef, and told us it was chicken. hmmm.) Well, I loved those lentils, and thought of them everytime she fed us arroz a la cubana (rice covered in fried eggs covered in tomato sauce) or weird cut-up hot dogs in some rando sauce.

When I went back to Sevilla after college, I was on my own this time, living in an apartment with a billion other young people with no one to cook for me but me. Oh, and I was as broke as broke could be. That’s really broke. I struggling to find work and making about 40 euro/week. Yeah…that’s not alot. This is the time when I started doing the whole “make a big pot of something and eat it for the next 3 nights” thing. And I still do it, cause I’m still broke. But not as much so. Going to the grocey store in Spain, I never had any idea what I was going to cook-I would just buy the cheapest stuff and hope for the best. Lucky for me, groceries are ridiculously cheap in Spain. The other day I found a receipt in my wallet from a grocery store in Sevilla (I really need to clean out my wallet) that was for a 4-pack of yogurt, some apples, a bag of pasta and a loaf of bread. Grand total: €2.10. (I ate ALOT of pasta then. And lost weight. Grr.) Well, the local SuperSol was chock full of jars of garbanzos and lentejas, at about 30 cents a pop. So, I came to love my garbanzos y lentejas cause they enabled me to pay my rent every month. Thanks garbanzos y lentejas! You’re the best!

This recipe was the first one I came up with during that time of poverty, using my super dirt cheap jars of lentils. In fact, every ingredient can be bought on a pauper’s budget. I have made this sooo many times, I couldn’t even make a guess to the number. Also, in Spain I didn’t have to cook this for very long because the jarred lentils were already cooked, but using dried lentils, you have to let it cook for at least an hour. However, using dried lentils is nothing like using dried beans, because you don’t have to soak them, which make this easy to make on a whim as long as you have a bag lying around.

Last night, I made this for the 1000th or so time. One of my roommates was one of my closest friends from college and also studied abroad in Sevilla (but in a different program.) Her señora made her either garbanzos (chickpeas) or lentejas everyday for lunch. Every. single. day. and not good like my señora did. Bad. and monotonous. After that semester, she vowed she would never eat garbanzos or lentejas ever again. Well, every time I make my lentejas, I joke around, offering her some, and she replies by making some horrid gutteral sound that indicates that she is, in fact, not interested. However, much to my suprise, she walked into the apartment as I was finished up, and she commented how delicious it smelled! I told her what I was making, and she said she wanted some! I guess I do have the power of coersion! Or, maybe it is just so delicious, it can make a lentil-hater love lentils.

Caveat-while my lentejas were delish, I woke up this morning and my apartment smelled like onions and garlic. I lit several candles around the apartment while getting ready and proceeded to set off the smoke detector at 6:30am. Whoops. Cook this with the windows open or fan on your stove on.

lentilpot_copy.jpg

Lentejas-Spanish Betsy style

1/2 bag dried regular old brown lentils (I use Goya. It’s cheap), picked over
3 cloves of garlic
1 large yellow onion
1 green bell pepper
1 large can of whole tomatoes, chopped
1 small can crushed tomatos
chili powder
cumin
salt & pepper

Saute the chopped onion and minced garlic in a large pot with olive oil over medium-low heat for about 8 minutes until they start to show color. Add the bell pepper that has been chopped into 1/2 inch size pieces, and continue cooking for about 5-10 more minutes until the onions are completely cooked and the pepper has brown color around the edges. Chop the whole tomatoes into about 6 pieces each, and add into the pot along with the juice from the can of tomatoes and the crushed tomatoes. Stir so it’s all thoroughly combined. Fill the large can with water and add that as well. Pour in the lentils and stir again. Spices: I always do this by taste, but add lots. Probably around a tablespoon of chili and a tablespoon or more of cumin. Add about 2 teaspoons each of kosher salt and pepper. Stir one last time and bring to a boil. When it is roaring, turn it down to a low simmer, cover, and cook for about 1/2 hour. After 30 minutes, taste the stew, but not the lentils because they’re not done yet! Make sure the spices are how you like them. If it tastes very strongly of tomatoes, add more spices. I always add more at this point, probably about a teaspoon of more of each. Continue to cook for about 30 minutes more. Serve and DEVOUR. Every time I eat this, I automatically picture myself back at the flat on Calle Ximenz de Enciso among 5 other roommates of all different nationalities, eating different things but eating together. Enjoy!

15 Responses to “Lentejas”


  1. 1 Sarah March 3, 2008 at 10:24 pm

    I swear I could have written this post. I had the EXACT SAME experience when I was studying in Sevilla last semester. I’m glad I’m not the only one that got a hot dog and an egg on a plate and called it dinner. The lentejas really were amazing there, I miss them so much. I am definitely going to try your recipe as soon as I get home for spring break and have access to an actual kitchen…yumm!

  2. 2 Lisa from CA March 4, 2008 at 8:32 am

    I got linked to your site through eatliverun, and I just had to say, SAME HERE!

    I studied abroad in Sevilla during college and went back to Spain to teach English afterwards, and yes, lentejas saved my life as well. I also had a local fruteria around the corner from my apartment, so with the lentils and the fresh produce every week, I was in heaven. I actually cooked the same thing you did above on a weekly basis, but would also dump some rice in it and make my own sloppy tomato-lentil-paella.

    I might just have to make it this weekend…

  3. 3 VeggieGirl March 4, 2008 at 9:10 am

    Yo hablo español! :0) Nunca he estado a Sevilla, pero a sus sonidos de la experiencia que excitaban. Esa cena de la lenteja parece deliciosa!

    Haha, sorry, I couldn’t resist ;0)

  4. 4 arimcg March 4, 2008 at 1:29 pm

    That looks great! I love lentils.

  5. 5 Alicia March 4, 2008 at 6:25 pm

    Your post made me smile. I made a pot of lentil soup over the weekend for lunch this week and it’s really creamy and yummy. In fact, I’m going to have some as part of my lunch later.🙂

  6. 6 Annie March 4, 2008 at 8:44 pm

    Just wondering, would pink (red?) lentils work in this recipe? I know we have some in my pantry..

  7. 7 Betsy March 4, 2008 at 9:56 pm

    Sarah
    The random stuff my senora used to feed us…it took a while to get used to, and most of the time I wasn’t used to it. The WORST was the arroz a la cubana which we had every Saturday for lunch, and I had to choke down. What program were you with?

    Lisa
    Another person with the same experience! it’s quite small world. Were you in Sevilla teaching as well or another city? I planned to go to Madrid to teach but didnt’ quite make it. I truely lived off of lentils and fruit from the fruteria! I used to go to mine all the time.

    Veggie
    You’re too cute! Gracias por tu mensaje! Por favor, cocina mis lentejas!!

    arimcg
    Thanks!! Well, you’re lentil salad always looks amazing. That might show up here soon!

    Alicia
    Your comment made me smile! Enjoy your lentil soup. I made another lentil soup about 2 months ago and had the same problem with the white bean and kale that it was too bland. But, my mom said the problem was I added water, not veggie broth. How do you make your lentil soup?

    Annie
    I’m sure they would work just fine. I just always use the cheapo Goya brown lentils cause they go along with how I first made this…with no money!

  8. 8 Lisa from CA March 5, 2008 at 12:30 am

    I studied abroad in Sevilla my junior year in college (and noticed that you are the same age as me, which leads me to believe that we may have been there at the same time), but didn’t teach there. After college, I spent a year in Madrid, teaching at a public high school. I miss it very much!

    Lentejas were my staple, but my treat was membrillo con queso. I sometimes splurge at Whole Foods and buy myself a little block of membrillo.

  9. 9 Kiala March 5, 2008 at 11:33 am

    Can I just tell you how incredibly jealous I am that you live in New York and I don’t? I want to be making lentils in my tiny apartment in Manhattan!

    All I’m saying is…maybe you should get an extra lock or something for your door, unless you want four new roommates.

  10. 10 Alicia March 5, 2008 at 6:11 pm

    Hey Betsy, I’m too lazy to bother with vegetable broth so just used water. This is a marth Stewart recipe.

    The earthy flavor of the lentils is set off by the tartness of the tomatoes and a spoonful of wine vinegar, which is stirred in just before serving the soup. Cooked pasta makes a good addition to this soup. Try any short pasta, such as elbow macaroni, or break up strands of spaghetti or linguine. Use about 2 1/2 cups cooked pasta (1 cup dried).

    Note: Cooking times for lentils can vary from 20 to 40 minutes depending on how fresh they are. The older the lentils, the longer they take to soften.

    Prep: 15 minutes
    Total: 45 minutes
    Ingredients
    Serves 4
    1 1/2 tablespoons olive oil
    3 carrots, chopped
    2 stalks celery, sliced
    1 onion, chopped
    Salt and pepper
    2 cloves garlic, minced
    1/4 teaspoon dried thyme
    1 dried bay leaf
    1 can (28 ounces) whole tomatoes, with their juice
    4 cups water
    1 cup lentils, picked over and rinsed well
    1 tablespoon wine vinegar
    Directions
    In a large pot or Dutch oven, heat oil over medium heat. Add carrots, celery, onion, 1 teaspoon salt, and 1/4 teaspoon pepper. Cook until onion is translucent, about 5 minutes. Add garlic, thyme, and bay leaf, and cook until vegetables begin to soften, 2 to 3 minutes longer.
    Add tomatoes with their liquid, breaking them up with a large spoon. Add water and lentils, and bring to a boil. Reduce heat, and simmer, partially covered, until lentils are tender, about 30 minutes. Just before serving, stir in vinegar.

    Note: I didn’t add in any pasta but you can do that if you want. Enjoy!

  11. 11 daveed January 13, 2010 at 6:40 pm

    i like to process everything but the potatoes!

  12. 12 cocinas modernas March 5, 2013 at 11:54 pm

    Hi there, this weekend is pleasant in favor of me, since this time i am reading this wonderful informative article here at my home.

  13. 13 liquid diet for diverticulitis May 3, 2014 at 11:09 pm

    The low-calorie liquid diet is practiced under rigid medical supervision only.

    Your meals and snacks should consist of the following foods:.
    Be sure to choose a diet that you will enjoy so that you will be able to stay on it long enough to achieve your weight loss goals.

  14. 14 gluten free society and hydra September 28, 2014 at 3:23 pm

    You can still get an excellent meal at a restaurant
    that doesn’t participate directly in the program, because the restaurants often have gluten-free pasta stashed away for their regular clients, and they’re already well familiar with celiac disease and gluten-free food.
    When we try to muscle through with just conviction as
    our army we’re doing it the hard way. The author of this GFP article loves fruit and
    realises that this affair was fostered in childhood where his
    father grew many varieties of fruit trees in his home yard.


  1. 1 building program Trackback on May 19, 2014 at 6:46 pm

Leave a Reply

