A Worthy Addition

sweetpotatokale
A super quick post before I run to the gym.

I know I posted a sweet potato with black beans last week, but I added something to mine this week that I couldn’t resist telling the world. World!! Are you listening??

I still can’t get over kale. It might be my favorite current veggie, and that it was winter always so kale was always in season. Wait-I don’t wish it was always winter-see previous post. Well, I guess then I’ll just have to eat my fair share while it is in season and not ridiculously expensive. When I saw it at whole foods this past Sunday, it was a little cheaper than it was last time, so I could afford it without sacrificing my other arm and leg. I was thinking for the next 2 days how I was going to use it considering I already had most of my weekly meals planned (I do this ahead to save money. I’m broke…remember??), so had to add it to something I was already planning on making. And it popped into my head that I would put in on my sweet potato I was planning on eating thursday night, in the middle of a really long and really boring meeting at work where I almost fell asleep. But, the thought of kale along with black beans on top of a deliciously baked sweet potato perked me right up. Thanks kale/black bean sweet potato for helping avoid utter-embarrassment in front of people at my job who are a lot more important than me. I owe you.

I made this the exact same way I made my previous sweet potato, but put in some sauteed/wilted kale on top of the potato and below the black beans. With the reg. old salt, pepper, olive oil (the good stuff!!) and chili pepper. And it was good. so good. The flavors went together really well and man, that was one healthy meal! Talk about full of vitamins! And, you know what, if I had fallen asleep in that meeting, I would have never enjoyed this and be full of all those vitamns and I probably would have been fully and utterly humiliated at my job.

Off to go pick up my race packed for the 15K tomorrow. My expectations for my performance have gone down since my cold returned on Wednesday, with a vengeance. Still gonna run it, but it might be interesting. Stay tuned!

8 Responses to “A Worthy Addition”


  1. 1 chandra March 8, 2008 at 10:04 am

    Yum – that looks delish!! You know, I’ve never tried kale… maybe I will have to stop by the store today and see how much it costs around here. Good luck on your 15K!! I’m sure you’ll do great. Glad you’re feeling better!

  2. 2 lindzakins921 March 8, 2008 at 11:14 am

    Mmmm🙂 Looks good… How do you cook kale? Just like spinach? Hope you have a great run!!!

  3. 3 VeggieGirl March 8, 2008 at 12:43 pm

    Wow, talk about a pile of deliciousness!!

    Best of luck in the 15K tomorrow!! You’ll be SPECTACULAR!! :0)

  4. 4 VeggieGirl March 8, 2008 at 12:44 pm

    P.S. – kale = another VeggieGirl obsession/daily “indulgence.”

  5. 5 arimcg March 8, 2008 at 6:09 pm

    Nice photography! Good luck with your run.

  6. 6 Meredith March 8, 2008 at 7:23 pm

    Looks wonderful. Kale has been a choice of late in our have, especially ’cause it’s not spinach and it is fast.

  7. 7 Emma March 9, 2008 at 9:36 am

    wow …it photographs so nicely too! lots of pretty colors! That makes me want to make a sweet potato today as well!

  8. 8 Betsy March 9, 2008 at 8:22 pm

    Lindsay
    It’s so easy! I remove it from the stems and corsely chop the leaves. I then saute it with salt, pepper and olive oil over low heat, turning frequently until it is all wilted but still green-about 10 minutes. Eat up!

    Thanks for all the good lucks!!


Leave a Reply

