Betsy’s Amateur Gourmet’s Rachel Wharton’s Bodega Beans

large white beans

Ugh. I’m thinking running a 15k at the tail end of a cold was not the best idea. Cause now I have strep. Yup. It sucks. I seriously think the last time I got strep was when I was in middle school. But, at least I get to be lazy and lie in bed, watching No Reservations and Rob & Big. Side note-I think Rob & Big could be my favorite show ever. Who doesn’t want to watch a teeny skateboarder doing shenanigans with his 400 pound bodyguard? I think it’s awesome. Back on track-Even though I contracted strep, I still don’t regret doing the race. It was a wonderful experience and I would do it again in a heartbeat! But, I need to get better ASAP cause I am supposed to run my half marathon in a little over a month…

Moving on! No one wants to read an entire post about my stupidity. When I was still healthy(ish) and basking in the post-race glory on Sunday evening, I wanted something delicious and hearty to fill my super empty stomach and I knew exactly what would fill that void. One of my favorite food blogs is the Amateur Gourmet. It is probably the first food blog I started reading, maybe about 2 1/2 years ago. Adam is a funny funny guy and his ridiculous humor always keeps me coming back for more. There’s a reason I’ve been reading his blog for so long! Well, I’ve made several things from his blog and have gotten lots of cooking ideas from him, all to great success and happy tummies. But, when he did a post a few months ago on a dish using big butter beans, I knew I had to make it. And make it I did. And I’ve made it several times since, at least 4 times. And it’s always really yummy and hits the spot. And (is that the 50th and??) it’s soooo easy to make-you can throw this together in 20 minutes and snuggle up on the couch chomping down on piping beans while pretending you’re not sick.

Adam adapted this recipe from the Daily News’ Rachel Wharton, I adapted the recipe from him and you can adapt it however you want…as the third generation of a recipe, it’s obviously easily adaptable. However, I added one ingredient that I think Adam’s version would seriously benefit from–THYME. Tons and tons of fresh thyme makes the dish. It takes it from a good recipe to a phenomenal, out of control, amazing recipe. Add thyme. lots of it. You won’t regret it. Unless you’re allergic to thyme or have a physical aversion to it. Then you’ll probably regret adding it.

Whenever I make this recipe I think of it as 3 nights of food, and was planning on eating it last night and tonight for dinner. But then I got sick. And have been slurping down Katz’s chicken soup instead. And now I have a tupperware container full of delicious thyme-filled beans sitting in my fridge, begging to be eaten. Maybe tomorrow night. Or I’ll go run another 15k tonight, get even more sick, and will never ever be able to finish my beans. That will never happen, cause I want my beans!

Betsy’s Amateur Gourmet’s Rachel Wharton’s Bodega Beans

1 onion
2 celery stalks
3 carrots
1 large can of butter beans (the big, flat white ones)
salt & pepper
fresh thyme
GOOD olive oil.

Saute the onion that has been sliced in olive oil for about 8 minutes over medium heat. While it is cooking, chop the celery and carrots and rinse the beans. When the onions are done add the celery and carrots along with the thyme. I use about 1 tablespoon, maybe a little more, of fresh thyme leaves (stems are icky) and like to put them in at the same time as the carrots and celery so it cooks a little and releases it’s amazing thyme-y aroma. After about 5 minutes of all that stuff cooking (I prefer the carrots and celery still crispy when I eat this), add the beans along with salt and pepper to the mix and stir thoroughly. Cook for about 5 more minutes and serve with a small drizzle of really good olive oil on top. Nom nom.

10 Responses to “Betsy’s Amateur Gourmet’s Rachel Wharton’s Bodega Beans”


  1. 1 chandra March 11, 2008 at 9:50 pm

    I hope you feel better soon!! Your butter bean dish looks a-mazing!

  2. 2 lindzakins921 March 12, 2008 at 7:46 am

    Looks really good & colorful… Hopefully those veggies will help you get better soon!

  3. 3 arimcg March 12, 2008 at 10:54 am

    Oh man, that sucks! Hope you feel better soon. And I love amateur gourmet!!

  4. 4 Marcy March 12, 2008 at 11:05 am

    You mentioned that you are mostly a vegetarian, so am I, how do you ensure that you get enough omega-3? Thanks and feel better!

  5. 5 Courtney March 12, 2008 at 7:56 pm

    Betsy-

    I made the sweet potato, black bean, kale wonderfulness for dinner tonight…cest incroyable! Sorry, watching French Kiss. Anyway, I never would have thought to put them together and it was wonderful…definitely going to be a repeat meal.

  6. 6 Lisa from CA March 13, 2008 at 1:44 pm

    Thyme always reminds me of Thanksgiving. Especially thyme, rosemary, and sage combination.

    Someone I know gave me a heap of celery stalks that she grew herself. I’ll just have to make some variation of this and freeze it for next week!

  7. 7 VeggieGirl March 13, 2008 at 8:05 pm

    Yikes, so many of my fellow bloggers are becoming ill!!! Betsy, I hope that your strep is short-lived, and that you’re back to your healthy self in no time!!

    Among my obsessions would have to be butter beans – YUM!!!! Thank you for sharing such a mouthwatering recipe!

  8. 8 Betsy March 13, 2008 at 8:09 pm

    Thanks for all the get well wishes! I think they’re working. No more fever so I’m on the mend!

    Marcy
    FLAX!!! Flax seeds are really high omega-3s, but you can only get their nutritional benefits if ground. I add about a tablespoon of ground flax to my oatmeal every morning.

    Courtney
    Isn’t is a great combo!?!? And who knew?? Good movie by the way😉

    Lisa
    I open a jar of thyme and it automatically reminds me of thanksgiving! I once made stuffing for Thanksgiving in Sevilla, and forgot to buy thyme. I made the other cook put the meal on hold so I could trek to the Corte Ingles to buy the thyme…cause it wouldn’t be Thanksgiving without it!
    Homegrown celery!?!?! I’m very jealous you live in CA

  9. 9 xango March 14, 2008 at 12:28 am

    looks delicious.

    Great stuff I will keep reading. And looking around at your great content.


Leave a Reply

