Running Update #3-Nothing good here

running mug
cute mug..no? found it on sale for about $4 at fish eddy’s a while back. it’s my fav.

Not much to update. It has been a very quiet week in terms of running. My feet haven’t been doing much moving besides walking from my bed to the kitchen and back.

I did attempt a short run on Thursday and got tired very fast, only did 3 miles. And yesterday, I was feeling much better, and although I knew I couldn’t do a full long run (technically, I was supposed to run 10 miles) but decided to try to go as far as I could. I ran on the treadmill (super ugh) because it was slightly drizzly out and didn’t want to force myself back into bed with another case of strep for the next week. Last time I did a long run on the treadmill, it was lovely. I felt good, strong, energetic and not bored. This time, awful. I got tired fast, bored fast, my legs felt like lead and my left knee hurt. There was nothing good on the gym tv (well, I didn’t have any control over it) and looking at myself at that goddamn mirror that the treadmills face was torture. The first 4 miles were more or less fine, but after that each step was a struggle. I don’t know how or why, but I was able to get in 7 miles. I needed the miles but it was difficult. I left the gym exhausted and ready to go back to bed. I am so sick of being sick -it is so frustrating and I’m just ready to be back into a routine.

It’s amazing how much regular and quality running effects my mood. Since I got sick and I haven’t been able to run regularly, I’ve felt down and unaccomplished. Running is something that I find so satisfying and truly makes me happy that when for some reason I’m unable to run, I get affected in a very negative way. Let’s home I’m able to do a tempo on Tuesday and get back into my routine-I’m ready to get going.

I’m going home next weekend and am looking forward to a nice long run around the Shaker Lakes by my house in Cleveland. It’s a really peaceful and scenic place run that I know I’ll benefit immensely from it.

In other bad news, there’s a rumor floating around the Runner’s World online forums that the Brooklyn Half Marathon date is being pushed back. This is not good–my May is quite full and am going to be gone 2 weekends during that month. I really really really really hope this is just a rumor and not truth.

Hopefully my running update next week will be all sunshine and rainbows. It’s looking too gloomy here right now.

7 Responses to “Running Update #3-Nothing good here”


  1. 1 chandra March 16, 2008 at 9:08 pm

    Good to hear you’re feeling better! I had a bad running day today too, maybe it was something in the air… 🙂

  2. 2 Lisa in CA March 17, 2008 at 12:28 am

    My 10 miles yesterday was slooowwwwww at first. I felt like I had weights strapped on to my legs. It wasn’t until around mile 5 that I felt a little lighter. If it wasn’t for my This American Life podcast that I had uploaded onto my MP3 player, I wouldn’t have survived. Although, I saw a squirrel posing on one foot on top of a sprinkler Karate Kid style, which totally made my run as well. I sometimes really wish I had my camera with me when I go out and run. Sorry, totally random!

    And I can totally second the mood change on days I run and days I don’t. It makes all the difference in the world for that day. I hope you can get back to your routine! I’m quite impressed that you were able to get 7 miles on the treadmill!

    And also (sorry, longest comment ever!) when I was visiting my friend in NYC, she took me to Fishs Eddy, which is quite possibly my favorite place, EVER. I want everything there.

  3. 3 lindzakins921 March 17, 2008 at 6:56 am

    Betsy ~ Do you eat post-run? Curious what you thought a good post-run workout snack was (if you have any?)… Glad to hear you’re feeling better!

  4. 4 Emma March 17, 2008 at 12:29 pm

    cute mug…i almost didn’t say it, because I figured you’d be getting a lot of those same comments, but I love drinking out of fun cups!

  5. 5 RJK March 17, 2008 at 5:39 pm

    I HAVE THAT MUG!!! It’s actually my favorite–love it.
    nice blog but post more often (-:

  6. 6 erika March 17, 2008 at 9:33 pm

    Yikes I read that about the Brooklyn half too!

    Sorry you had a crappy run.. but remember – it happens to all of us! Sooo, not to be stalker-ish, but do you care if I ask what your name is on RunnersWorld? Or do you not post in the forums..? (I’m e.sperly btw!) OH!.. cute mug!

  7. 7 Betsy March 17, 2008 at 9:52 pm

    Chandra
    Def. something in the air. It wasn’t us…beyond our control.

    Lisa
    hahahha-I would have paid to see that squirrel. Mr. Miyagi was probably standing behind a tree egging him on.
    And, yeah, Fish Eddys is sooo fun. When I go I wander aimlessly for about a half hour before I do anything.

    Lindsay
    If I’m running during the week, I’ll eat dinner when I get back cause I run at night. During the weekend, I run in the morning and I always eat half a clif bar and a banana before. After, and amazing bowl of oatmeal, of course!!! With pb for protein. Yum Yum!!

    Emma
    haha-thanks!! I love love love cute mugs!

    RJK
    nice! I think I saw it in a magazine, ripped it out and eventually bought it (see next post). Ugh…if only I had more time to post more often. I’ll try!

    Erika
    I really really hope they don’t change the date! I feel like my entire April is planned around it. I can’t afford for them to change it!
    I’m a Runners World lurker. No name…just a dedicated reader😉


Leave a Reply

