Chickpeas…Again?

Photobucket

Yuh-huh.

I am the queen of ripping crap out of magazines. I read tons but they’re never my own so if I want to keep something, I have to rip it out. A lot of times I’ll be reading some rando magazine at the gym that is on the magazine rack (I don’t know about you guys, but my gym almost always has the worst magazines. They’re are always too many copies of L.L. Bean and Japanese Vogue. what?? so random) and something will call out to me and I’ll pull it out. I try to always do it secretly though cause I’m scared the gym people are going to yell at me. Although I’m not sure why cause the magazines are always old and falling apart. The people that work there are scaaaary. It’s a good thing I only pay $250 a year for my membership, so I have low expectations. Anyway…if I see something, like an interesting ab workout, a book review or recipe, I’ll (quietly) rip it for my ridiculously huge collection of tear-outs. However, when I’m on the elliptical or stairclimber there is no place to put these things I rip out! So, I stick them wherever I can-in the cover of a book, inside another magazine, in my ipod case, inside pocket of my bag. These things end up in crazy places and I always always always forget about them. I’ll pull out a book from my bookshelf that I read 9 months earlier and out will fall a movie review that has long been out of the theaters. Whoops.

I also collect alot of clippings, especially recipes, from work. Part of my job is PR and for it I have to read a TON of magazines and newspapers. I tend to spend extra time reading the cooking sections, even though my organization would probably never get mentioned among the recipes. Everytime I find something that catches my eye, I sneak to the photocopier and copy it, cause I can’t rip them out at work! So, among all my papers for work and such at my desk I’ll find faded old photocopies of recipes, none of which I’ve ever made and probably never will.

This past Sunday (yesterday), I had to go into work to try to catch up after being gone for 3 days last week. I spent the entire day organizing all my crap at my desk and found at least 8 photocopies of recipes and a few that I had pulled from magazines at the gym. This is a neverending habit and up until new was not being useful to me. I collected all the recipes, threw them into the inside cover of my book and headed off home.

I have a loooong commute to and from my job (1.5 hours) so I spend quite a bit of time thinking and pondering about this and that. I was trying to think about what to make for dinner (Sunday night=big meal for next 3 nights) and decided to finally do something with all those recipes! I had almost an entire subway car to myself so I spread out with 5 recipes slowly eliminating them 1 by 1. I probably looked like a fool. Let’s just say it was a really good thing my subway car was basically empty. I came down to 2: 1 was a golden lentil stew with dates and other stuff from an old Martha Steward and 2 was a chickpea and veggie stew from a really really really old magazine (Fitness or Shape or Self) from over a year ago. I decided to make the chickpea one cause it was less complicated and I was tired but I didn’t really look at the ingredients until I got to the store. I thought it was a very basic bean and veggie stew but then realized it was slightly Moroccan flavored with fun spices and fennel. It was pretty simple to make and soooo amazing to eat. I can’t believe I let this sit in the inside of Until I Find You for over a year! It was so tasty, and suprisingly so. I was really skeptical as to how it was going to taste with the cinnamon and cumin and paprika (which is not my fav) but I could not scarf it down fast enough! The fennel was really key too as was the cilantro on top. This is a winner. Make it. NOW!!

Photobucket

Chickpeas and Veggies
(heavily adapted from a random magazine)

olive oil
2 carrots, chopped into 1/2 inch pieces
1 bell pepper, chopped in into 1/2 inch pieces
1 fennel bulb, chopped into 1/2 inch pieces
1 zucchini and 1 yellow squash, half moons into 1 inch-1/2 inch pieces
1/2 large can of whole tomatoes, each tomatoes chopped into about 6 pieces
1 large can chickpeas
2 cups low sodium veggie broth
3/4 teaspoon ground cardamon
3/4 teaspoon ground paprika
1/2 teaspoon cumin
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon cayenne
kosher salt & pepper
chopped cilantro

Saute the carrots and bell pepper in a bit of olive oil in a large pot, like a dutch oven, for about 5 minutes. Add the fennel, zucchini, squash, tomatoes, chickpeas and spices and saute for about 5 more minutes. Make sure to combine all the ingredients thoroughly . By the way…this recipe makes ALOT so the pot will be full. I was really really surprised at how much it made. After 5 minutes, add the chicken broth. bring to a boil and then bring it down to a simmer, cover and let cook for about 20 more minutes. Top with as much chopped cilantro as your heart desires!! I like lots. Scarf it down ASAP!!!

10 Responses to “Chickpeas…Again?”


  1. 1 lindzakins921 March 18, 2008 at 6:14 am

    Mmmm… you can never eat too many chickpeas! I never would have thought to pair them w/ zucchini & squash…

    I have a similar commute time and it’s pretty funny the things you think of to pass the time!

  2. 2 VeggieGirl March 18, 2008 at 9:41 am

    Give me chickpeas everyday, and I’d never get bored – especially when paired with an abundance of vegetables!! :0)

    Haha, you and my mom are the same way with magazines – I HAVE to read them before her; otherwise, they’ll be all ripped up and I’ll only get to read half of the magazine, haha.

    Yikes, that’s a hell of a commute you have!

  3. 3 arielle March 18, 2008 at 10:30 am

    I rip up magazines, too. At least you make the recipes you rip out. I almost always forget.

    Also, I would like to know where this $250 gym is, because that is a STEAL.

  4. 4 Cara March 18, 2008 at 10:33 am

    You make me smile. Looks pretty tasty!

  5. 5 aimelina March 18, 2008 at 1:03 pm

    That looks so yummy! I’m a HUGE fan of cilantro. And chickpeas. And veggies. And I also rip stuff out of magazines. I get Everyday Food magazine and I seriously sit down and rip out every recipe I think looks good.

  6. 6 Lisa from CA March 18, 2008 at 4:06 pm

    I LOVE Moroccan flavors. They’re so fresh but interesting.

    Is that an 1.5 hr commute each way??

    I have a 45-1 hr commute battling LA traffic and I almost want to tear my hair out whenever I’m stuck on the freeway. Given the choice, I think I’d rather have your commute than mine, because I hate driving. I guess I’m living in the wrong state!

    I may start posting more food pictures… All these blogs are so pretty with food pictures!

  7. 7 Lisa from CA March 18, 2008 at 11:10 pm

    On the note of beans, I found this AMAZING recipe and I just had to share it with you:

    http://www.101cookbooks.com/archives/amazing-black-bean-brownies-recipe.html

    If I make this, I think I might go crazy and see if I can make it any healthier…

  8. 8 Emma March 19, 2008 at 4:42 pm

    wow I have all these random cans of chick peas in my cabinets! Thanks for the great ideA! it looks delisssssssh (as always!!)

  9. 9 freepersonaltrainer March 19, 2008 at 5:16 pm

    ooooh that looks delicious! i bet it would be great over pasta or brown rice, too.

  10. 10 Betsy March 19, 2008 at 11:10 pm

    Lindsay
    I agree! Chickpeas are amazing and easy on the wallet!
    Oh, my commute. I feel like it shapes my life right now.

    VeggieGirl
    My world is just full of scraps of magazine paper-a mess I’d say. My mom has tons (TONS) of recipes ripped out from magazines, and I think she’s made about 5% of them. Hi mom!

    Arielle
    I rip them out but don’t make them. This was a first!
    My gym: Dolphin Gym. It is a s***hole and worth no more than $250, but it is close, has what I need (although I wish it had spinning classes) and the air conditioning works most days!

    Cara
    haha-thanks!! it was soooo tasty.

    Aimelina
    I LOVE cilantro-although a lot of people don’t like it! They’re all weird.

    Lisa
    I’m not a big fan of driving, so I don’t think I could do that commute if I drove. However, sometimes I would like some personal space on the subway. Many weirdos tend to violate it. I actually saw the black bean brownie recipe somewhere else the other day too!!! I’m glad you liked it to Heidi’s site, her’s is beautiful. Hopefully I can tackle them soon!

    Emma
    Cans of chickpeas tend to not last very long in my apartment…I always find ways to use them up!

    Kelly (cause I know that’s your name😉 )
    the recipe actually called for couscous, but I forgot to add that in!


Leave a Reply

