Homeward Bound

Quick post before I head out to to a snowly 11 miler:
I’m in Cleveland for the weekend, so there’s not a lot of healthy cooking going on at my apartment with my absence.

I decided to fly home for Easter weekend and am glad I did! I have 2 sisters (I’m the middle) and this weekend I’m the only one here. I get all the attention! Last year, my older sister got married and my younger sister graduated high school and started college, so it was NOT my year…I was pushed in the corner many times. So, I’m relishing all the attention to myself, as long as it’s positive attention, of course😉

I’m actually taking 2 days off so I flew here Thursday night and am flying out Monday night. I was hoping to get home on Thursday night in time for a nice, homemade healthy dinner with my parents, but my flight was delayed about 3 hours so I didn’t get home till almost 11. Eating at the airport is one of my hardest food situations. I’m never tempted by fast food and cinnabon, I very often get 2 cookies from Au Bon Pain and a big bag of really bad for you trail mix (the kind with all the M&Ms in it(. Almost every single time I fly out of LaGuardia, my flight is delayed and there aren’t good food options in the Continental concourse: a mini Au Bon Pain stand, Auntie Annie’s pretzels and a tiny magazine stand. That’s it…no healthy options. And thus, when my flight is delayed, I always end up eating crap while I get more and more ancy waiting and waiting. This time, however, I decided to be prepared, and I’m glad I was. I packed a banana, an apple, a Kashi granola bar and a LaraBar. Between 3 (when I left work) and 7 I went through all of those bit by bit and then realized I wasn’t going to get home and be able to eat real food till 11 or maybe later. I was weighing my options, and decided the best thing I could do was buy a bag of trail mix-this time the healthiest version, no M&Ms and no preservatives, and monitor my eating of it. I bought the bag and told myself I could open it on the plane, not before, and have 3 small handfuls and then wait a while so see if I was still hungry, then eat some more. I got on the plane, at my 3 handfuls slowly, stopped and waited about 10 minutes, and I wasn’t hungry anymore! So no more trail mix for me! Which is a HUGE accomplishment. Trail mix is one of those things that is fine in moderation but I can eat tons without even realizing it. So, to stop after just a small about was a pretty amazing feat. Yay me!

I got home eventually, the flight was pretty uneventful and enjoyed the bowl of homemade butternut squash soup my mom had waiting for me. I’m glad I didn’t splurge and overeat on trail mix!

Besides being home to spend time with my parents and my best friend and just enjoy being out of the city, this is the real reason I came home:

Photobucket
Photobucket Photobucket

This is my 95+ pound dog, Dalton. He is the sweetest guy ever, maybe a little bit over energetic, but the best EVER! I love coming home and playing with him and running him around with him and taking him on looooong walks around the lake. No one else takes him on hour long walks so I know he looks forward to me coming home. In fact, every time I put on my sneakers, he gets really excited cause he thinks I’m taking home on a walk. I hate to let him down then I’m just going to the gym! But, I hope to take home out a couple of times for some ‘alone time’.

This short post is getting long. In terms of cooking-my mom and I are making 3 kinds of cupcakes for an Easter party tomorrow night. That counts as healthy food, right??

13 Responses to “Homeward Bound”


  1. 1 Lisa from CA March 22, 2008 at 9:53 am

    i am giving you a standing ovation for being able to stop yourself from eating all of the trail mix. nuts are my weakness, and i probably wouldn’t have been able to to stop myself from literally dumping the entire content straight into my mouth.

    let us know how your 11 miler goes! i’m off to do my 10.5!

  2. 2 Cara March 22, 2008 at 10:09 am

    sounds like you have a great weekend ahead of you! how cute! i would love walking your pup too

  3. 3 lindzakins921 March 22, 2008 at 10:20 am

    Great job w/ the trail mix… that is one of my weaknesses too… especially when it comes to adding some to my oatmeal… airports are tough, so good job! Enjoy your trip home!

  4. 4 Julz March 22, 2008 at 11:47 am

    Awwww what a big bundle of LOVE! Is that not the best homecoming? No matter how long you’re gone, the pups ALWAYS act as though you’ve been gone for years…I love that! Enjoy your Saturday and your time with your fam!

  5. 5 Robin March 22, 2008 at 2:34 pm

    NOTHING beats a long walk with an appreciative dog. Nothing. Have a great time at your parents!

  6. 6 chandra March 22, 2008 at 7:13 pm

    Nothing beats being home and getting tons of attention. 🙂 And nice work with the trail mix!! It is a hard one for me to stop after just a little bit too.

    11 miles… yay! I’ll be working my way up there soon! My 20K is about 10 weeks away – yikes! Have a great Easter and a good time back home!

  7. 7 ashley March 23, 2008 at 7:23 am

    Stopping with the trailmix is HUGE. I try my best to avoid trailmix, because I seem to think that 8oz. of it is a normal serving size!

    Is Dalton a yellow lab? He is gorgeous!

  8. 8 Meredith March 23, 2008 at 8:40 pm

    I’m pretty sure they’ve gotten D down to 85 lbs by now. Give him a hug for me. Do you have any northern bean recipes you can send my way. I just realized I have 5 cans and two bags of dried that I need to do something with.

  9. 9 Betsy March 23, 2008 at 9:53 pm

    Lisa
    Nuts and trail mix are totally weakness. I had convinced myself before I got to the airport to not buy any, but the delay nulled that, and I spent about 25 minutes decided what to do, and the only healthy choice was a SMALL amount of trail mix, and I told me myself I had to stick to it.

    Cara
    Thanks! He’s fun to walk but a workout cause he is sooooooo strong and I use all my strength and weight to hold him.

    Lindsay
    Every time I see Kath’s oatmeal with trail mix I really really want to try it…it think I might have to some day!

    Julz
    I love the reaction I get from him when I get home! Always so loving😉

    Robin
    Agreed! Thanks!

    Chandra
    20k…wow! You’ll do great. Great job on the 5 miler!!! A 20K is not much further!

    Ashley
    serving sizes and trail mix…hahahaha. Something I always miscalculate.
    Yeah-he’s a yellow lab but cause he’s so huge he looks like a female lion. NO JOKE!!! We got him as a rescue when he was about 1 1/2 years and tends to be a little aggressive but is sooo lovable and affectionate!

    Mere
    You know how ridiculously emaciated he was looking over Christmas? He’s gained some winter weight. At least 15 pounds heavier now than he was then. He looks normal again. I think Dad was starving him!!! haha-no not really.
    Northern beans? Mom has a good veggie cassoulet that would work. Email her for it. Why the hell do you have so many northern beans?

  10. 10 Meredith March 24, 2008 at 8:33 am

    I do use them a good deal and they’ve been on huge sale and are everywhere at our whole foods for the past month or so. I grab a couple of cans when I’m at the store and it starts to stack up.

  11. 11 VeggieGirl March 24, 2008 at 9:50 am

    How funny!! You were in Cleveland, and I was in NYC – we did indeed switch places, Betsy!! :0D

  12. 12 Tina March 25, 2008 at 6:28 am

    Dalton is adorable! He looks like the sweetest dog!

  13. 13 Maggie March 25, 2008 at 1:25 pm

    What kind of cupcakes were they? Mom cooks pretty healthier sometimes. Not as healthy you though. I’m glad you had fun with D. I only got to see him for about 3 hours when I was hope in February. I think Dalton loosing wieght is because Dad often feeds him 1 1/2 cups but I would always feed him 2. Plus all the extra junk he ate getting into things like petti-fores.
    Do you have any suggestions for healthy snacking in the dorm room?


Leave a Reply

