Running Update #4: Bouncing Back

No fun running related pic this week. It’s a blaaaah post. Blah in color, not topic.

Another 2 days of running week. I’m still feel like I’m kinda recovering from strep so the exercise has been not so intense. Longest to recover from strep EVER!!! I think mentally too, it wore me down so that’s why I’m taking so long to recover. Ok-enough pitying myself.

I did my normal Tuesday tempo run and was really really nervous going into it. I felt like crap after my long run the Saturday before and was still feeling worn down (and was still on antibiotics) so I wasn’t sure how it was going to go. Also, and this might be getting a little odd, but the antibiotics were giving me really bad indigestion. Weird!! I know. I wasn’t sure why I was getting it, but I traced it back to those little suckers, and as a matter of fact, my indigestion stopped on Friday, the day after my last day on them. So, if you didn’t know, running with indigestion is AWFUL. It kinda makes you feel like you’re going to barf the entire time. Well, I was sure that every step on that treadmill was going to be painful and nauseating. And you know what…I did feel like I was going to barf for alot of it. But, it wasn’t a bad run. In fact, it was a great and energizing run. And fast. Except for when an annoying little coifed gym bunny kicked the plug on my treadmill and I had to stop, get off, plug it back in restart and get back into my run. Grrr. Well, besides that, and the indigestion, I enjoyed myself. 4.5 miles (actually maybe a little more) at between 7 and 7.5 mph. Yay!

I had to skip my Thursday run cause that’s when I flew to Cleveland. I could have run in the morning, but I had to leave for work at 6:20 cause I had to be at work an hour early which meant I had to get up at 4 to run. Uh-uh. Not an option. Sorry. On to Saturday it is!!

I was really looking forward to my long run in Cleveland! It is always nice to mix up long run locations, so I knew this was going to be a fun run. Also, we live really close to a park/2 small lakes (the Shaker Lakes to those in the know) which is a lovely place to run. However, sitting in a restaurant on Friday night with my parents it started to snow. Then we went to the orchestra and in started snowing harder and when we left, there was about 4 inches on the ground and not stopping anytime soon. And the funny thing is that that night at dinner, I spent about 15 minutes talking with my Dad about a route to take (cause it was an 11 miler, not a short way) and now I wasn’t sure if I could run it with all the snow. When I woke up there was about 7 inches, and I got very concerned speeches several times from both of my parents about running the snow. Overly concerned, I say!! I think they were a little protective…it’s just snow!!! Anyway, once I ate my clif bar and let it digest, the roads were (i just wrote ‘rodes where’ instead of ‘roads were’…whoa) clear. This is Cleveland, not Florida. We can handle our snow. I ended up changing my route, because my original route had me going through a golf course and I was sure that wasn’t going to be clear. So my new route was a 2-lapper, not what I prefered but it would do fine.

My loop went around 2 local small lakes, my school (which is better than your school VeggieGirl…haha!!) and surrounding neighborhoods. It is a really lovely loop because of the lakes and I’ve run a smaller version of it several times. This morning it was bright and clear and my run was smooth and comfortable. There were TONS of runners out there (well, not compared to running in Central Park) and everyone says hi to each other. In NY, everyone ignores everyone else and pretends they’re better than others. You don’t make many friends running in Central Park. It was nice to be able to say ‘Hi’ to fellow runners without feeling like I was going to be laughed at for being friendly. Yay!!! First loop was nice and I fell into my natural rhythm pretty fast. I enjoyed the change of scenary and liked looking around-even though I had driven this route hundreds of times to school and back. But I hadn’t run it in a long time!! I only had to run in the snow for about 50 feet, and it was totally fun!! If I had better shoes, I would have tried to find more places to run in the snow! The second loop…it was a little annoying starting it, after running for a little less that 6 miles, and knowing that you had to run it all again. Ugh!!! And miles 5.5-7 were really hard, like always. I brought it up with my dad and he thinks it has something to do with my metabolism. I’m going to start playing with nutrition and maybe trying out on-the-go nutrition (gels, etc.) so see if that helps. But, once I got over the hump I got right back into my stride. Overall, it was a very stress free run.

So, that’s 11 miles down…tack on 2.1 to that and I got my half marathon! Not too shabby I must say!

Oh-the half marathon WAS changed to the first weekend in May. That’s not too bad and gives me an extra week to train, but I was planning on going to Connecticut with some friends that weekend but I gotta run now!!! And after training for so long for something…sorry girls…I’ll see you another weekend! Half-marathon it is!

Next weekend-Scotland Day 10k with another 10k tacked on to the beginning or end. I’m not sure if I can run in my kilt though.

10 Responses to “Running Update #4: Bouncing Back”


  1. 1 Cara March 24, 2008 at 10:43 pm

    you utterly amaze me. How long did it take you to be able to get to this point?

  2. 2 Lisa from CA March 24, 2008 at 11:31 pm

    i’ve ran in the rain, and in 100+ degree weather (i do not recommend – it was an accident), but i have yet to run in the snow. i’m quite intrigued. i actually prefer running in cold weather, so it must be really crisp! and it must not be as harsh on your knees?

    i agree with the toughness of around mile 5-7. although, sometimes, it gets really tough for me right in the beginning. by mile 9, though, i usually feel like i can go on forever.

    if you ever come visit on this side of the country, you’ll be glad to know that people wave here while running too! at least, on my side of LA, it does.

  3. 3 lindzakins921 March 25, 2008 at 5:04 am

    really impressive betsy ~ especially since you are still recovering from strep, prob the most painful sickness!!!! way to go😉

  4. 4 Sarah March 25, 2008 at 6:41 am

    I just wanted to let you know how much you inspire me! I started running about a year ago—I used to not even be able to run a mile, and that was at 5.8 on the treadmill! yikes! Now I’m up to 4 miles going 6.6ish. I’m really proud of myself and have learned that I am much more motivated when I have a goal in mind. On that note, I think I’d like to start training for a half-marathon. I know it’s pretty ambitious of me, but I would take it slow and maybe aim for one in the fall. Are you following a specific program or are you just kind of making it up as you go? Any advice would be much appreciated!

  5. 5 Julz March 25, 2008 at 7:24 am

    Holy Crap…I was just thinking about if I typed, “Yeah, so my 11-MILER felt great!” I’d walk around with a personal “pat myself on the back”-er ( I originally wrote “back papper” then “back platter” then “back packer”) So impressive Betsy!!! Honestly, as I was reading it I kept thinking, “WOHHH, eleven miles”. Daaaaang Girl.

  6. 6 arielle March 25, 2008 at 9:43 am

    Just the thought of running 4.5 miles at 7.5 makes me want to die. Or cry. I’m not sure which. Probably both, so we’re not going to talk about the other eleven. You’re my hero.

  7. 7 Meredith March 25, 2008 at 10:16 am

    You are doing so well and we are so impressed.

  8. 8 Tra March 25, 2008 at 12:22 pm

    wow! how long did it take to get up to that pace? The fastest I’ve run is 10 minute miles- I kinda have to go slow now because my knees are inflammed and it hurts to run…=( I’d love to get up to your pace! go betsy!

  9. 9 Maggie March 25, 2008 at 1:30 pm

    How-how betsy. I am so impressed. I can’t wait to hear how you do on the half marathon! Hearing all about your running goals, one day I hope to be there. But for now, the 5k turkey trot is my goal.

  10. 10 Betsy March 26, 2008 at 3:38 pm

    Cara
    I started officially training Jan 1 (literally-I did a 4 mile midnight race with a friend for New Years instead of going out), and have worked it up since. When I started, I could do 5 miles, but it was pretty hard, and I was very strong cardiovascularly, so adding distance wasn’t too hard. Since I’ve been slowly building up my distance…and am now where you see me!!

    Lisa
    It’s a hard hurdle to get over, but once I do, I always feel the bset I do during a run. It’s amazing!
    I prefer when people wave. It makes me feel like I have a connection to those people. In NY, its just 2 people passing in the night (or day-ha)

    Lindsay
    ugh-worst recovery ever. I must have blocked it out from when I was a kid.

    Sarah
    yay!!! have an exercise-related goal is wonderful, isn’t it! Let’s see…my half training program. I read a bunch of different programs on Runnersworld.com and kinda made up my own. I run 3 times a week-Tuesdays I do a 4-5 mile tempo run, Thursdays I do 4-5 of whatever I’m in the mood for and Saturdays I do a long run. I started out at 5 miles for the long run and increased about a mile every week. Let me know how your training goes!

    Julz
    4 months ago I did not think I would type that. And now I can actually run that far..and enjoy it! With time and motivation you can do anything! I sound like a motivational speaker. Get your ass out there and pound the pavement! There-that’s more like me😉
    Oh-and I’m the worst misspeller EVER. It takes me twice as long to write posts cause I’m such a mses with spellnig. or mess with spelling

    Arielle
    Wow-to be somebody’s hero just made my day…am I allowed to walk around now singing the song “Hero”? Is that by Mariah Carey by the way? Anyone?

    Mere
    Thanks! And vice versa

    Tra
    I’ve always been naturally pretty fast, not sure how that came about. My Tuesday runs are tempo runs which means I push myself on speed, so going at 7.5 is hard, but I can get into a rhythm pretty quickly. try upping your speed for a 1/4 mile and see you how you feel!! It’s amazing how slow it feels when you slow back down.

    Mag
    How-how indeed!!! how-how to you on your photography. 5 miler, not 5k. idiot.
    will you keep writing how-how on any comments??? it made me SMILE.


Leave a Reply

