Tofu and Green Stuff

Photobucket
Is that an exciting title or what?

First off, I planned on posting this earlier this week but I’ve had an insane week at work-maybe one of the busiest since I started my job. And next week isn’t going to let up at all. Our executive director left this week after many many years (just short of 20) at my organization and the new one starts on Monday. It’s all very positive and we knew this was happening but makes work very insane. I almost always get to leave work at 5, maybe once every 2 months I have to stay late. This past week I’ve worked till 9:30 three times. Ugh. And considering I have an hour and a half commute, I’ve been getting home late and tired. However, it’s all very exciting and I’m looking forward to seeing how next week goes when the new executive director starts. It’s gonna be a crazy one though…I better get some food all set for me in the fridge.

I have issues with tofu. It took me a long time to be able to cook it correctly, and when I do it never looks like it is supposed to in other people’s pictures. Maybe I’m buying the wrong kind? Maybe I’m not draining it enough? I don’t know, but I sure to have issues-it likes to take me to the back and beat me up with I try to cook it. I mean, it always tastes fine when I make it, but I just don’t think I ever do it right. One problem I have with it is that I always burn it. If I bake it, it always always gets burned and then sets off the smoke detector and causes a ruckus in my small walk-up. If I stir fry it, when I want it to stay in large chunks, it breaks down and kinda disintegrates into nothingness. When I make tofu scrambles, it never looks like real scrambled eggs like it does in cookbooks and at restaurants, it just looks like chunks of tofu. I think tofu is out to get me. What did I ever to do it? Just eat it! Maybe it hates me for that. Sorry!

I do love tofu though but don’t cook it too often cause I like to limit my soy intake. As I said in an earlier post, I keep servings of it in the freezer so I always have it on hand. I know this changes the texture significantly, which is why my tofu scrambles don’t look like other people’s tofu scrambles, but still!! It just won’t cooperate. Well, my individual serving of tofu came in handy during this crazy busy week. Amazingly, I thought enough ahead to pull out a bag from the freezer and stick it in the fridge before I went to work so I would be thawed by the time I got home. It was and looked like a real piece of tofu when I stumbled in after standing by an elevator at the executive director’s first of 2 goodbye parties, directing people “to the third floor, take a right when you get there and have a wonderful evening!” for four hours when my foot still hurt from my run on Sunday. I needed something quick and warm and yummy. And this was quick and warm and delicious. It probably took 10 minutes to prepare from start to finish, maybe even less.

Tofu scrambles are so good and not just for breakfast anymore! I make them for dinner very often and they always hit the spot. I got the flavor inspiration from Heidi Swanson’s awesome amazing cookbook “Super Natural Cooking” that my Mom gave me for Christmas this year. Thanks Mom!! I added more green stuff that she did and a shallot instead of an onion to provide a more subtle flavor. I LOVE shallots-sweeter than onions with a more delicate flavor. Try one once if you’ve never had it. This tofu scramble is my most common go-to. It’s perfect-a little spicy, a little sweet, a has great texture from the tofu and the spinach and makes your belly happy. Even if the tofu is out to get you-you’ll eat it first with this one.

close-up photo-of course!!
Photobucket

Curry Tofu Scramble

1/4 block of tofu
1 shallot-diced
lots of spinach (I used a TON. Use how ever much you want)
Frozen edamame
Frozen green peas
Salt & Pepper
Yellow Curry Powder
Red Curry Powder
Olive Oil

Squeeze all the water from the tofu and crumble into small pieces. Saute the shallot in a little bit of olive oil until almost entirely cooked-about 5 minutes. I would use a non-stick pan. Works best here. Throw in the tofu along with about 1 teaspoon (maybe a little more) of yellow curry and a little less that 1/2 teaspoon of red curry (for heat). Cook for about 3 minutes, stirring frequently. Add the the spinach, and s&p to taste, turning the whole thing with tongs to wilt the spinach. When it is about half way cooked, (the spinach that is), add about 1/8 cup each of the edamame and peas. If needed add about 1/8 cup of water (I needed to this time), toss, and cover the pan with a lid from a pot, keeping the steam in. Cook for about 2 more minutes or until everything is done. Pour it onto a plate and enjoy!

11 Responses to “Tofu and Green Stuff”


  1. 1 Robin April 4, 2008 at 11:52 pm

    Oh man, sorry about having to work so late!

  2. 2 Erika April 4, 2008 at 11:59 pm

    maybe its just a problem with the KIND of tofu you’re using? I mean like firm vs extra firm vs silken..?

    either way.. that looks DELICIOUS and I definitely think I’ll be making something along those lines tomorrow! Yumm!!

  3. 3 Alice (in Veganland) April 5, 2008 at 1:33 am

    The edamame looks great in it: so bright! And if it’s tasty, everything else doesn’t matter.

  4. 4 Meredith April 5, 2008 at 6:33 am

    I think it might have to do with the kind of tofu you are using as far as the tofu scrambles go, you probably want to go with a silken or something like that. As to cooking large pieces, this is what I do:

    Cut one block of extra firm tofu in half so that you have two larger flatter pieces. Cut each of these pieces into 8. Press tofu, marinated in whatever you want. In a non-stick skillet cook over med-high heat on each side until brown and firm. This creates very firm pieces

  5. 5 hk April 5, 2008 at 8:21 am

    that looks awesome! love the “green stuff” too🙂

  6. 6 lindzakins921 April 5, 2008 at 9:11 am

    Awww – I’m sorry to hear you had an insanely busy work week! Working til 9:30 when you are used to leaving at 5 is awful😦 At least it’s the weekend now and hopefully next week won’t be as bad!

  7. 7 Brittany April 5, 2008 at 4:35 pm

    I like making tofu myself, but had trouble with it at first. I use different recipes but for stir-frying I usually use this recipe from The Grit cookbook, it’s a vegetarian friendly restaurant in Athens, GA. Here’s the recipe in case you want to try it. Although, I think the tofu you made looks amazing! I want to try the recipe.

    Grit-Style Tofu (serves two, from The Grit Cookbook)
    One 15-oz block firm tofu
    Vegetable oil
    Soy sauce
    Nutritional yeast
    Cut tofu into cubes slightly smaller than playing dice.
    Lightly oil a non-stick skillet and place over high heat.
    Allow oil to heat slightly and add tofu.
    Saute, tossing with a non-metal spatula untl evenly and lightly golden brown.
    Sprinkle lightly with soy sauce, saute briefly to further brown tofu.
    Remove from skillet, draining and discarding any excess fluid.
    Rinse and wipe skillet dry, lightly oil and place it over high heat.
    Allow oil to become very hot and add tofu.
    Saute tofu, tossing with a non-metal spatula almost constantly until very well browned.
    Sprinkle with soy sauce to taste.
    Sprinkle with nutritional yeast to coat tofu cubes and, tossing vigorously, saute for a few seconds and remove from heat.

  8. 8 Julz April 5, 2008 at 9:25 pm

    Bets, this looks SO yummy! And my tofu always looks a little funky too…but that kind of makes it more fun, plus I always LOVE the different/varying textures that my different Tofu cubes take on! This really looks so satisfying and great though! Hope you have a fabulous rest of your weekend!

  9. 9 Lisa from CA April 5, 2008 at 10:56 pm

    Tofu is tricky. But it’s so widely used and so versatile. I love your colorful dish!

    My tofu kick of the week is pureeing it and then mixing it with this peach salsa. I’ve been spreading it like hummus.

    I’m in need of quick recipes, though, and will keep this one on the To Cook list, along with Peanut Butter Boy’s pancake. How good do those look????

  10. 10 Em April 6, 2008 at 7:35 am

    Yummo! Last time I made Tofu with curry powder it tasted way too strong though…did your curry powder stand out a lot? Or just the right amount? I hate feeling like I’m eating straight spices/powder, even though it seemed well mixed and distributed. Would it not work if I didn’t have red curry powder? All I have is the mild (yellow) curry powder? I’m still looking for that perfect tofu veggie dish!

  11. 11 Betsy April 6, 2008 at 9:35 pm

    Lisa
    SOOOOOOO good. like, I’m ready to make pancakes right now at 11pm good.

    Emma
    In this, it isn’t that strong. I always think I need to add lots and lots of curry to make it very strong. Red curry is stronger and spicier-I really only add it for the spice. You could definitely do this with only yellow- or whatever else spice you want to use!!


Leave a Reply

