Kale Chips: Epic Fale

Photobucket

Tears have been flowing in my kitchen (figuratively).

Okay guys: what is the f-ing secret with these kale chips??? I’ve made them twice and have messed them up both times.

The first time, I put them on a cookie sheet (I don’t have a pan with sides) with a little olive oil and salt and pepper in the oven and the smoke detecter went off in about 5 minutes. They were good, but not done. And I swear my gas flame in the oven was going to blow up cause it kept flaming up. The second time, the smoke detecter went off within 3 minutes, so they were soggy when I took them out. Not chip-like and crispy at all! Yeah-I ate them all both times cause I am in love with kale and it still tastes good, but they weren’t the chips I was looking.

Ladies-how do you make them? Give me some advice!! I want my kale chips!

16 Responses to “Kale Chips: Epic Fale”


  1. 1 chandra April 10, 2008 at 9:58 pm

    I’m sorry to hear you’re having problems with it!! Maybe it has something to do with using a gas stove vs electric? I don’t know, I haven’t used a gas stove in forever… All I do is drizzle some OO over the kale, mix it around so they get covered, sprinkle with spices, and bake at 350* for about 12 minutes. Is there maybe something in the oven setting the smoke detector off?

    I set my smoke detector off making soup last week… no clue how I managed that one!šŸ™‚

  2. 2 Julz April 10, 2008 at 10:16 pm

    Bets: I made them too n you know what? I thought they were meh. Nothing special, they tasted like KALE and i could detect bitterness in even the ones that ere 100% crispy! (I am not a fan of anything bitter… no grapefruit for me!)… anyways, I didnt see the big wawaweewa with these anyways :-\

  3. 3 Alice (in Veganland) April 11, 2008 at 2:34 am

    I don’t know, I don’t even do anything special… But mine look more burned than yours, and the burned crispy parts are the best ones in my opinion! Some of them stay soggy, but I like them anyway…
    Again, I also have an electric oven, and no smoke detector at all!

  4. 4 VeggieGirl April 11, 2008 at 7:23 am

    Oh no!! I’m so sorry they didn’t work out for you :0( I have a gas stove, but have never had a fire… yikes! I wish I had better advice for you – maybe second time’s the charm, with the recipe?

  5. 5 Kath April 11, 2008 at 7:36 am

    What temp do you have your oven on?? I made them last night and put the oven to 350*. They were in for 11 minutes and were perfectly done. This was about 4 oz of raw kale, if you want the exact portion. Try again!! I’m making them today for lunch too with an even smaller portion.

  6. 6 arielle April 11, 2008 at 8:12 am

    That’s weird. I used 350 too…and I also have a gas stove. Does your oven have two racks? If so, put them on the top rack…I made two pans, and the one on the bottom rack burnt a little. I thought the burnt parts were gross and extra bitter, but the ones on the top rack were perfect.

    Also, this is kind of obvious and not to be condescending, but you don’t have something on the bottom of your oven that’s burning, do you? Like a random piece of food that fell down there?

  7. 7 Kelly T. April 11, 2008 at 12:44 pm

    if the chips didnt burn, then what caused the smoke? maybe you oven is just dirty, lol

  8. 8 lindzakins921 April 11, 2008 at 3:25 pm

    I am afraid to make them b/c I know I’ll mess them up haha

  9. 9 Romina April 11, 2008 at 8:06 pm

    I’ve seen these everywhere, but I forgot to make it when I had kale. Now I’m definitely going to have to try it! Looks delicious!

  10. 10 glidingcalm April 11, 2008 at 10:14 pm

    dang…sorry that hasn’t been working out… i’ve been meaning to try them ,but am a little nervous…haha your post will probably extend this “just-eye-ing”-not-actually-cooking phase of kale chips for a couple weeks longer! oh well I’ve been trying other new veggies so I guess that’s okay!

  11. 11 Robin April 13, 2008 at 3:08 pm

    Make sure you spread them out really well on the pan so they cook evenly. Mine like to smoke if I pile too many up and then some burn and some are still soggy. And dry them really well before you put them in too. Mine turn out really well when I only use about 1/3 of the bunch per sheet. Hope that helps!

  12. 12 Betsy April 13, 2008 at 5:29 pm

    thanks for all the advice everyone!!! I’m going to have a go again this week. And Lindsay and Emma, if I get them right, you have to try!!!

  13. 13 apollocreed April 17, 2008 at 11:21 am

    ari made me kale chips and it made me want to gut myself. Just so you know: Never Cook Kale Chips For A Loved One.

    Unless you hate them.

  14. 14 Sally Parrott Ashbrook April 17, 2008 at 12:42 pm

    Yes, I made them and they didn’t work for me–I burned them. I’m going to try them at 350 for 11 minutes this time.

  15. 15 arielle April 17, 2008 at 12:44 pm

    Oh god. Sounds like it’s time to have that talk about embarrassing our significant other on the internet again.

  16. 16 http://www.chirpy.info/KelvinPne July 25, 2013 at 4:36 am

    Hello! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give a
    quick shout out and tell you I truly enjoy reading through your posts.
    Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that go over the same topics?
    Many thanks!


Leave a Reply

