Kale Chips: Success!

Photobucket
they’re crispy!

it’s true. I cracked the secret code that everyone has been sharing around the internet about kale chips but hiding from me.

But seriously, thanks for all your awesome advice. I lowered the heat (350), tore the kale into smaller pieces and gave them more room on the cookie sheet. And I made them twice this week. And no fire alarm blaring in my apartment!!! Success. Serious, perfect success. Crispy, salty, healthy success. Kale success.

From now on, kale chips every night. Well, not every night, but I won’t hesitate making them. And I can make them at 4am without waking my building from my smoke detector. Cause I make kale chips at 4am…don’t you?

12 Responses to “Kale Chips: Success!”


  1. 1 VeggieGirl April 18, 2008 at 9:48 pm

    HOORAY!!!! So glad that the kale chips turned out well this time!!

    As a kale-fanatic, I’m down with eating the kale chips everyday – I eat kale, period, everyday :0)

  2. 2 Romina April 18, 2008 at 9:54 pm

    YAY!!! Congratulations!! And thanks for the tips, I will definitly have to try this soon.

  3. 3 Alice (in Veganland) April 19, 2008 at 1:44 am

    I sure could eat kale chips at 4 am🙂
    Congratulations, good to know they finally worked for you as well.
    Oh!, I just realized I can buy kale today in the farmer’s market. It’s a shame I can’t chew it🙂

  4. 4 katheats April 19, 2008 at 6:18 am

    YAY!! Glad they were a success. I want some for breakfast!

  5. 5 Cara April 19, 2008 at 7:38 pm

    Woo hoo! Congrats!

    Now if only I can crack to code to boiling an egg. No joke…. canNOT do it.

  6. 6 Meredith April 19, 2008 at 9:18 pm

    So glad it worked! I love kale chips Enjoy!

  7. 7 glidingcalm April 20, 2008 at 8:49 am

    Betsy! Now that you made them work, that means I have less of an excuse NOT to try them. Some day! Good to know the modifications for successful chip making though. I’ll definitely be refering back to your post when the time finally comes around!

  8. 8 runroamrecycle April 20, 2008 at 10:47 am

    Hahha glad you got it to work out! The one time I made them.. I put seasoning salt (that stuff for popcorn) on.. gave em a nice little bite!

  9. 9 eatingbirdfood April 20, 2008 at 1:59 pm

    YAY!! I’m glad you got to experience some crispy kale! I do think they are a good fill in for chips when you are in the mood for something salty.

  10. 10 Tina April 22, 2008 at 2:59 pm

    I need to try kale chips!

  11. 11 happy herbivore April 23, 2008 at 12:04 am

    maybe this will make my husband eat kale…

  12. 12 Heather S April 24, 2008 at 1:16 pm

    Hey, do you have to eat these right away? How do you store them? Do i reheat?
    Sorry for all the questions!


Leave a Reply

