Running Update #9: The Knee of Doom

Photobucket

The only running I’ve done is in my dreams while sleeping pretty unsoundly.

This has been one hard week. All I’ve been thinking about is my knee, running and the race. Every person at work who asked me how I was I would launch into a long and intense rant about how I hurt my knee, the half marathon, my frustration etc. I think my coworkers were more sick of hearing about it than I was talking about it and dealing with it. But, it’s literally been the only think on my mind, I could barely do my work.

So, after tons of googling and reading Runnersworld.com, what I have is patellar tendinitis. It’s tendinitis of the tendon that connects quad and the kneecap at the tibia and causes pain in the front of the knee, below the kneecap. It’s caused by overusage and an increase in mileage. Yup and yup. Solution? Rest, ice, stretching. Time. That last one is something I don’t have. I have 6 days, not 60. And that super short length of time till the half is what’s really bringing me down. If I got this injury while I wasn’t training for something I probably wouldn’t be so depressed. But the fact that I got injured so close to something that I decided to do last September and I have been talking about and thinking about ever since is what kills me the most. That and running has turned into something that brings me so much joy, pleasure and a sense of accomplishment. Right now, I have lost that and unfortunately I don’t know when I am going to regain that.

However, I finally have some good news. After 6 days of feeling like I wasn’t feeling any improvement in my knee, yesterday there was improvement. I could walk around without it hurting and go up and down stairs almost normally. And I could work out (elliptical and biking)-something I haven’t been able to do without pain and therefore wasn’t doing it. And today, I actually forgot about my knee for about 4 hours! I have literally been thinking about it since the second it started hurting, so to forget about for a bit was a huge improvement and meant that it wasn’t hurting. It has actually barely hurt at all today. Horray!

And if you asked me this past Friday if I was going to run the race, I would have said with close to 100% certainty no. But today, I can say it’s looking much better. Much much much more likely. In fact, I would say that it is very probable that I am going to run. I am not making my decision until Friday night (race is Saturday), so stay tuned. But, to finally have some decent news is lifting my spirits up tons and is something I need sooo bad. I need a better week. I need something positive. And it’s looking like things are getting positive. Hopefully…

Oh, and this week will have many more posts than last week-pathetic I say!

Stay tuned to a post Friday night with my final decision.

By the way, thanks to everyone for your kind works, support and advice. It has helped a lot to hear everyone’s comments especially for something that is effecting me so intensely. Yay bloggers!

15 Responses to “Running Update #9: The Knee of Doom”


  1. 1 Lisa in CA April 27, 2008 at 11:15 pm

    SO happy to hear that there’s been some improvement!

    I really hope you can run the race. I really really hope so! If not, I suppose the best thing is to think of it as something that will benefit your running career in the long run. I feel your pain! Don’t give up, Betsy! I’ll be thinking about you!

  2. 2 Romina April 27, 2008 at 11:37 pm

    You poor thing! Get well soon! =)

  3. 3 Alice (in Veganland) April 28, 2008 at 5:20 am

    If you forget about it for 4 hours is because it’s getting better🙂. I know you feel powerless, but well…we’re humans, not machines! Good luck this week with your work outs, and I really hope you’ll be able to run.

  4. 4 lindzakins921 April 28, 2008 at 5:58 am

    Awww, that is awful to hear about your knee😦 Good luck with your decision whatever you decide… I hope you feel better & heal up fast!!!

  5. 5 VeggieGirl April 28, 2008 at 6:28 am

    I can only imagine just how tough this week has been for you – I am PRAYING that your knee recovers a.s.a.p., so that you can return to your regular routine, and run again (not just in your sleep, haha). Hang in there!!!!!

  6. 6 Cara April 28, 2008 at 9:50 am

    I really hope it gets better in time. I would be super bummed out as well!

  7. 7 chandra April 28, 2008 at 9:57 am

    I’m keeping my fingers crossed for you!! I’m very happy to hear it is getting better, that is a good sign!! Be sure to keep taking it easy this week, I’ll be waiting to hear your decision!! 🙂

  8. 8 eatingbirdfood April 28, 2008 at 12:00 pm

    Betsy! I hope you knee is feeling good enough on Friday that you can feel good about running the race. I recently ran a 10K and the week before the race I got the flu, I had to miss the last long run of my 10 week training session and I was so upset at the thought of doing all that training only to be sick for the race. Ultimately I didn’t run the whole week before the race and ended up feeling decent enough to run on race day. I really hope that since you have been giving your knee time to rest to regain strength that you will be able to run!! I am signed up for a half in November, I might have some training questions for you in the near future. GOOD LUCK!

  9. 9 maggiescamera April 28, 2008 at 12:17 pm

    Is there going to be another half marathon you can run? I hope you are better enough to run on saturday! Ask Daddy if he has any advice to not let you get yourself down. Good lucky Betsy!

  10. 10 arielle April 28, 2008 at 1:28 pm

    Man, that sucks, but if it’s feeling better now hopefully you’ll be good to go on Saturday. I can’t wait to hear what happens and hope you get to run. Also, there will always be another race, but not another knee, so be careful. That was profound, I know, but you know what I mean.

  11. 11 hk April 28, 2008 at 4:38 pm

    great news, stay positive!! Either way, you’ve put in so much hard work, and I can only imagine how fit your because of all of it. Totally a bummer to feel injured so close to the race, but it totally sounds like you’re taking care of yourself, kudos!! You’ll be great, glad things are looking up🙂

  12. 12 ChocolateCoveredVegan April 28, 2008 at 6:41 pm

    Ok, you’re going to think this sounds really weird, but I actually read that you get a lot of benefits from “imagining” yourself exercising! True, it’s not as good as the real thing, but hey, if you can get benefits from running or weight-lifting while you’re actually asleep in your comfy bed, I’m all for it!

  13. 13 glidingcalm April 29, 2008 at 6:25 am

    Ahh Betsy, that’s no fun at all. I’m so sorry…if there is one thing I don’t want to read on your blog- it’s you being unhappy and putting up pictures of icing & nursing injuries!! So sorry! At least you know the problem and the steps to recover! I hope it’s as quick & painfree as possible! Having to dodge a rut in training and getting injured kind of comes with the business though, right? It happens, and we just have to make sure we don’t rush the healing processes (I esp. can speak from experience with that one!). Take care and keep your head up!

  14. 15 heatherwlu April 29, 2008 at 11:53 am

    Oh no! I’m so sorry about your knee😦 That’s frustrating this close to your race. Just keep icing and take it easy this week. Good luck!!


Leave a Reply

