The Final Decision…

it’s a no go. and i’m “okay” with my decision. more or less. maybe more less than more. ok-i’m upset, but i know it’s basically the only decision.

more on sunday.

9 Responses to “The Final Decision…”


  1. 1 lindzakins921 May 2, 2008 at 10:25 pm

    I’m sorry to hear you are upset w/ your decision, but just think about how many races you will be able to run in the future by taking care of yourself now… that probably won’t make you feel any better (b/c I know it wouldn’t help me either), but you are making the right choice…

  2. 2 chandra May 2, 2008 at 11:04 pm

    Betsy, to be honest – I’m extremely proud of you either way. From your posts I can tell you are a great runner, and you love to do it. I hope to keep working to be able to run as fast/long as you can! You are inspiring to say the least. A lot of people just run because they think they have to, not because they truly enjoy it. YOU enjoy it and you will be able to enjoy it for years to come. Keep up all the amazing work, Betsy!!

    And of course, I hope you have a fabulous weekend. 🙂

  3. 3 Lisa from CA May 2, 2008 at 11:07 pm

    i have to second the comment above. i’m really proud of you for making such a difficult decision.

  4. 4 maggiescamera May 3, 2008 at 8:42 am

    Ahhh Betsy! There will be another race in the future. At least you did not hurt yourself more.

  5. 5 Julz May 3, 2008 at 9:17 am

    You’re so AWESOME for making this decision! I can’t imagine how difficult it was for you, and I think you totally rock! As does every other blog-reader of yours! So keep that smile on! You’ll be back to running in no time at all🙂

  6. 6 hk May 3, 2008 at 3:02 pm

    darn, I’m sorry…but there’s definitely something to be said for making smart decisions to take care of your body. I’m sure you’ll be happy about your choice in the long-run, and you’ll only be EVEN MORE prepared for when you do chose to run the race! All the best for a speedy recovery

  7. 7 Cara May 4, 2008 at 4:20 pm

    aww I’m sorry. I know you can sign up for a new one soon though and kick some butt!

  8. 8 Alice (in Veganland) May 5, 2008 at 5:52 am

    Right choices are sometimes difficult to make, but hey! you totally did the right thing… It’s very important that you don’t hurt yourself! And you will sure do great in your next run (and then you will be soooo thankful that you didn’t run this one!)

  9. 9 melissa May 5, 2008 at 2:04 pm

    I’m glad you are feeling better! I know it sucks to work so hard and then have to make the wise decision. I had a friend who trained for 5 months for a marathon and then got Plantar fasciitis two and half weeks before the marathon. He had to wait a whole year before he ran his first. But he did and so will you.

    At least the bad weather finally broke, sunny days and roff top nights in the city!


Leave a Reply

