Running Update #11: Back On My Feet

Photobucket

Why am I posting such an unflattering shot of me on the internet? Cause I took if after running for the first time since my injury this past Saturday!! I mean, if that the face of a happy runner after a (pretty) good 10 miler or what?!

Finally. Although I only haven’t been running for 3 weeks, it seriously seems like an eternity. I seriously can’t imagine being injured for much longer-I have been feeling so ancy and determined to lace up my running shoes. The elliptical just doesn’t cut it. AT ALL. It’s funny that some people can go forever on the elliptical and get bored after 5 while running, when I am completely the opposite. Anyway, after suffering through three miserable weeks of ellipticalling and pain, I got back out.

I have to say, though, I was so incredibly nervous to run again. I was so scared of re-injuring myself or getting back into running too soon causing more problems. Would my knee basically give out after 5 minutes leaving me even more defeated? Ugh-I couldn’t stop thinking about it. But I just wanted to get out there! And so I did.

How was it? I wish I could say it was the best run I’ve ever had. That I basically hit nirvana when I started running because it felt to great to get back into it. Yeah-no. I mean, it wasn’t a bad run, but I could definitely tell I hadn’t run in three weeks. Ellipticalling and biking does not make up for the workout running gives me-it was hard. I had a really hard time getting into a good rhythm and couldn’t get a good pace. I tend to be really good keeping at my pace when I run my long runs (9 min/mile) but I think I lost my touch this past Saturday (well, hopefully just temporarily) but I started out waaaay too fast and ended up at the end of mile 4 only 30 minutes in. That’s 7 1/2 minute miles! Whoa-too fast. When I run long runs, I need to keep a slow pace in order to maintain enough energy to finish. Duh! So, I messed up this time. I mean, I slowed down significantly but was still exhausted by about 3/4 of the way through because of my initial speediness. And my legs just felt a little awkward. Not really sure what happened there-just out of practice for a bit. I’m sure I’ll feel right at home soon.

Any my knee? It hurt a little-more of a subtle pain, like a nagging injury (which this is), NOTHING like it was before. Not even close to how it was when it started hurting a few weeks back. But, I put so much of my energy towards thinking about and focusing on my knee, determined to stop the second it hurt a little too much, that it exhausted it me a weird way. I couldn’t enjoy myself as much because I was thinking about it too much-I barely paid attention to my surroundings, my music or my enjoyment. However, I think it was necessary: better to have a less than stellar run than end a worse injury because I wasn’t paying attention. It didn’t get worse than how it started while running but I did feel a bit stiff in the end. Nothing to be concerned about and not even close to how it was before. Not even comparable.

I’m focusing too much on the negative here-I’m not a negative person in the slightest and don’t view running like that at all. It still was a good run! I was so excited and happy to be running again that I couldn’t not end my run in a good and uber-excited mood. I did a pretty solid 10 miles on a beautiful day and that’s all I could ask for. It doesn’t matter to me that the run wasn’t great, I’m back on my feet and out the door again. As I’ve mentioned probably millions of times before, running is probably my favorite thing and brings me so much pleasure and accomplishment to my life that no matter how bad a run is, it’s a always a good thing.

And next? I think for the next three or so weeks I’m going to continue running only once a week to prevent injury and promote healing and after that….oh, I’ve got big running plans. Really big running plans. Stay tuned…

15 Responses to “Running Update #11: Back On My Feet”


  1. 1 runroamrecycle May 12, 2008 at 4:27 pm

    I’m glad I get to be the first to comment on this one and say

    YAYYYYYYYY!!!

    I’m so glad you were able to get back out there, and after only three weeks!! (“Only”.. haha because I know it “only” felt like 3 years!)

    But now I have to throw in my mom-caution (although I’m not a mom.. how did that happen?) – a ten miler was sorta risky for the first run back! I think it’s a really good idea to keep up the XT and keep the running to a minimum in these first weeks.. and I know as a distance runner how badly you just wanna be back out there and go for miles on end, but if you can I’d say try to keep the runs pretty short for now. Like 3-5 miles.. probably nothing over 5. Of course that’s just my $.02 and I’m no expert, but I’ve been through a sfx before and I just know recovery takes time.

    But back to the excitement – SWEET!! I’m so happy for you! Can’t wait to hear about the BIG PLANS!!

  2. 2 Betsy May 12, 2008 at 4:29 pm

    sperly
    i actually didn’t mean to go that far-but due to bad measuring and not the best judgement to keep going when I finished my loop, I ended up at 10 instead of 6. eek! but, in the end, i think it was ok.

  3. 3 Romina May 12, 2008 at 5:12 pm

    Congratulations!! Your pic looks great. If you think that’s bad, you must be deluded!! (And very photogenic)

  4. 4 VeggieGirl May 12, 2008 at 5:16 pm

    YOU RAN!!!!! Betsy, this is fabulous news – I’m so happy for you!! Great photograph :0)

  5. 5 lindzakins921 May 12, 2008 at 7:36 pm

    Awww – yay!!! You seem SO happy & excited after running – it is such a great thing!!!!!!!! And I dont know what you are talking about, I think we all agree that photograph is great!

  6. 6 Brooke May 12, 2008 at 7:40 pm

    Congrats on your run!!!

    I’m looking forward to reading about your future running endeavors…

  7. 7 arielle May 12, 2008 at 8:56 pm

    I think you look good! I wish running made me that happy. Congratulations for getting back into it!

  8. 8 Julz May 13, 2008 at 12:34 am

    YAYY! -PS- You look adorable so shut itπŸ˜‰

  9. 9 glidingcalm May 13, 2008 at 5:05 am

    Haha I love that picture of you!! You really do have a sparkle in your eye! I’m so glad your able to be back running… getting injured can be so miserable, especially when it keeps you from doing the things you love. And not to worry, coming back is always super tough…I find that I get deconditioned SOOO quickly if I stop skating for a couple days or even just don’t have as intense practices.

    Again, pleased to read/hear about your upbeat attitude and first run back. I think we are all happy for you… just take it easy and don’t push it too hard!! Lots of stretching too!

    Have a great Tuesday Betsy!!

  10. 10 glidingcalm May 13, 2008 at 5:07 am

    by the way, I love the color of that top! Where is it from? You look so pretty in turqoise!

  11. 11 Becca A May 13, 2008 at 8:27 am

    Congrats on getting back out there! Glad to hear the knee is getting better. Your running stories help keep me inspired to keep trying and pushing harder in my own beginning running. And I’m the same way with the elliptical, I get so bored on it and it makes my knees hurt…but running doesn’t…

  12. 12 chandra May 13, 2008 at 9:12 am

    I’m so happy to hear you got back out there! Hooray!! πŸ˜€ And you don’t look bad at all in the pic! You’re glowing and happy and you look great! (Nothing like I do after 10 miles, red-faced, sweaty, and crying. Okay, not crying…) I’m glad you’re getting back into it again, the elliptical sucks. πŸ™‚ haha

  13. 13 Alice (in Veganland) May 13, 2008 at 10:27 am

    Well, of course after 3 weeks it’s not gonna be the best run of your life, but YOU RAN!! I’m happy to see you happy, you’re an inspiration to me!

  14. 14 Lisa from CA May 13, 2008 at 2:25 pm

    Yayyyyy is all I can say, because it’s all been said above. I’m so happy for you!!

  15. 15 maggiescamera May 14, 2008 at 6:39 pm

    I’m so happy you are running again! GOOOOO BETSY!


Leave a Reply

