What the heck is a sunchoke??

This is a sunchoke:
Photobucket

Ugly, ain’t it.

Since I started shopping regularly at the farmers market last year, I tend to buy the same things every time. Carrots, lettuce, zucchini, sugar snap peas, tomatoes, herbs, green beans, fennel. Maybe some fruit if I’m feeling crazy. I’m a creature of habit and I know what I like. Also, I always rush through the market going to the same vendors for the same stuff-I’m there maybe 10 minutes. But, I’m not sure why I rush. On a nice day, I have no reason to rush but I do anyway. I never really look at new and different produce, stuff I’ve never tried or am not sure how to cook. I’m adventurous in a lot of my cooking but never in my market shopping. Crazy at the market for me is buying cilantro instead of basil. Livin’ on the edge! However, because of this there is so much stuff I’m missing! The Green Market is a fantastic farmers market with tons of vendors selling a huge variety of seasonal produce. By sticking to my rushed list I’m missing out on great produce at its peak that is super tasty. And it’s making me sad.😦

However, after the success that was the ramps these past two weeks (I’d never tried them before), I decided to venture out and be a little crazy! My new goal at the market is to buy something new and different every week. It can be small and a single of one thing just to try it out, but I will buy something new that I’ve never either eaten or cooked with every week. I think it will be a fun to try new stuff and broaden my veggie horizons. It’s a great way to find new ways to cook my healthy food and taste the best that summer has to offer. Wow! Watch out-I’m taking some risks now!! (yeah-not really. but kinda.)

My first venture was buying that ugly sunchoke. I’ve seen them before at the market at a vendor that sells tons of different varieties of potatoes in the winter but had no idea what they were. I asked the seller and he said it was a root veg like a turnip or potato and available in the winter-it’s a good thing I got mine now cause they’re going to be unavailable soon! I’d seen them on menus at fancy schmancy restaurants and on Top Chef so I knew they were classy, like me. (Side note-has anyone else noticed how quinoa keeps popping up in tons of episodes? I feel so trendy considering one of my most commonly eaten foods is THE trendy ingredient on Top Chef. Yeah.) I picked a pretty small one (a bit smaller than my fist) and paid $.20 for it. Ahhh, cheap eats at the market. It took it home and promptly forgot about it. Until last night when I remembered I had bought it and decided to cook it up.

But how?? I googled sunchoke (also called a Jerusalem artichoke, latin name Helianthus tuberosus-so I’m a plant dork…are you gonna make fun of me?) and just decide to dice it and roast it so I could experience it without any other flavors covering it. It wanted to taste the sunchoke as it was so I could know how I could use it in the future and what flavors it would meld well with. So, I cut it up into chunks (it was white-like a potato on the inside) and tossed it in a hot (450) oven for about 45 minutes along with some chunks of sweet potato. When I removed it it looked like this:

Photobucket

I took a bite, having no idea what I was going to taste. I was expecting something bland, like a potato considering the inside looked like a potato. What did I taste? Something totally different! It without a doubt tasted like an artichoke and considering I like artichokes this was a good thing. The flavor was strong but not in an overpowering way. It could definitely be a dominant ingredient in a recipe-in a good way. I liked it. A lot. The flavor was bright and yummy. I could see it being good smashed with a little olive oil and lemon. Maybe mixed with smashed cauliflower to add volume. Mmmm-a simple recipe in the making? Possibly! Although just plain, how I ate it last night, was pretty perfect.

Photobucket

I ate it along with my sweet potatoes which was an excellent combo. The sweetness of the sweet potato combined with the bright and strong flavor of the sunchoke made it more interesting that my regular sweet potato.

Verdict? Sunchokes are yummy and will be purchased again. Success! My first risk-taking adventure into the world of unknown produce was a winner. Next time? who knows. Stay tuned…

26 Responses to “What the heck is a sunchoke??”


  1. 1 VeggieGirl May 16, 2008 at 10:28 pm

    The sunchoke is ugly, yes; but tasty at the same time! And it looks fabulous with the sweet potatoes, in your dish – yum!

  2. 2 Romina May 16, 2008 at 10:58 pm

    I find the ugliest things in life are often the best hidden secrets. Especially food-wise!!

    I must find these sunchokes… I’ve never heard of / seen them.

  3. 3 Alice (in Veganland) May 17, 2008 at 3:10 am

    I bought some and grated them in a salad with lemon juice! they were great too!

  4. 4 molly May 17, 2008 at 7:35 am

    I am very proud of your risk taking! Go Betsy!

  5. 5 lindzakins921 May 17, 2008 at 10:06 am

    it’s ugly but it sounds like it’s taste is divine… i LOOOOOOVE artichokes, so when i read sunchoke, i was thinking hmmmm is it in the same family?

    and no you are NOT a plant dork, I love learning about these new finds thru your knowledge!

  6. 6 Mom May 17, 2008 at 12:01 pm

    when I was a little girl, we used to bring them back
    from Alabama “pickled” by my great Aunt Mamie ( the best cook in the world) We also used to bring back “Lady Baltimore” cakes. Perhaps you get your love of baking from your great great aunt!

  7. 7 Cara May 17, 2008 at 7:40 pm

    haha I do notice quinoa keeps showing up in top chef. this show is why I have learned to venture out. haha.

  8. 8 maggiescamera May 18, 2008 at 10:57 am

    I think the rush as to do with how Dad often rushes through the market at home going to the same people for the same things. I think you should start writing blogs about top chef, esp if they ever do one that is all about organic food.

  9. 9 tielrestaurant.co.Uk November 10, 2012 at 8:49 pm

    This is my first time go to see at here and i am
    actually pleassant to read everthing at one place.

  10. 10 World warcraft schamane pvp guide on warcraftguidez.usWorld warcraft schamane pvp guide on warcraftguidez.us April 21, 2013 at 8:48 pm

    I don’t even understand how I ended up here, however I thought this post was once good. I do not recognize who you might be but definitely you are going to a famous blogger in case you are not already. Cheers!

  11. 11 Joy April 29, 2013 at 1:20 pm

    I just saw sun chokes in Albersons weekly ad, so I google found out what they are & lead me to your blog. Thanks. Going to go buy some.

  12. 12 Kristal May 2, 2013 at 7:57 pm

    No matter if some one searches for his essential thing, so
    he/she desires to be available that in detail, so that thing
    is maintained over here.

  13. 13 farm July 13, 2013 at 9:28 pm

    Farming can now be done using technology that will enable you to reach thousands of homes more easily and efficiently than you could reach just a few hundred previously.

    As for the tanks themselves, they were in a mixed bag of conditions.
    With more than 20 million tons of carbon dioxide being produced globally each year;
    reducing carbon emissions, curtailing waste, and producing more clean energy are the call of the day.

  14. 14 http://quickestfruit7162.soulcast.com August 6, 2013 at 1:19 pm

    Hi there! I’m at work browsing your blog from my new iphone 4! Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to all your posts! Keep up the great work!

  15. 15 http://Litter5column.sosblogs.Com August 6, 2013 at 1:44 pm

    hi!,I love your writing very a lot! proportion we be in contact extra approximately your
    article on AOL? I require an expert in this space to resolve my problem.
    Maybe that is you! Having a look forward to look you.

  16. 16 Annett August 6, 2013 at 2:52 pm

    You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but
    I find this matter to be actually something which I think I would never understand.
    It seems too complex and very broad for me. I am looking forward for your
    next post, I will try to get the hang of it!

  17. 17 exchange spam software August 7, 2013 at 11:37 am

    Hurrah, that’s what I was seeking for, what a data! present here at this website, thanks admin of this web site.

  18. 18 sleepy hollow tv show 2013 trailer August 8, 2013 at 3:25 pm

    My family members every time say that I am wasting my time here at
    web, except I know I am getting experience
    every day by reading thes fastidious content.

  19. 19 snoring game 1 August 9, 2013 at 11:22 am

    I was curious if you ever thought of changing the layout of your website?
    Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could
    connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having one or two pictures.
    Maybe you could space it out better?

  20. 20 Gladecoupons.Co September 3, 2013 at 6:39 am

    Excellent site. A lot of helpful information here.
    I’m sending it to some friends ans also sharing in delicious.

    And naturally, thanks on your sweat!

  21. 21 living January 15, 2014 at 3:43 pm

    Wonderful beat ! I would like to apprentice at the same time as
    you amend your web site, how can i subscribe for a blog web site?

    The account aided me a acceptable deal. I had been a little bit familiar
    of this your broadcast offered bright transparent idea

  22. 22 organic recipes March 21, 2014 at 3:05 pm

    Quality posts is the secret to attract the users to pay a quick visit the web site, that’s what this
    web site is providing.

  23. 23 glass cubicles April 30, 2014 at 1:46 pm

    Wow, awesome blog layout! How long have you been blogging for?
    you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your web site is great, as well as
    the content!

  24. 24 Brett January 29, 2015 at 4:52 pm

    It’s awesome to go to see this web page and reading the views of all colleagues concerning this paragraph, while I am also eager of getting know-how.


  1. 1 Warm pork belly, spring onion, and pear, frisse salad Trackback on April 4, 2012 at 12:00 pm
  2. 2 NYC – What happened on Gwynnett St.? « eat.drink.give.go Trackback on November 27, 2012 at 9:12 am

Leave a Reply

