How to make an awesome salad awesomer-a photo essay

That’s correct grammer…right?

And…we’re back! After a very very very frusturating 3 weeks, my computer is completely up and running and working correctly. The “working correctly” part is what stalled me this past week. I never said I was a computer wizz…

And to celebrate the fact that I can write about food and post photos (!!!) again, let’s move on to a simple, but inspring (well, at least I think so), photo essay on how to make your salad even better. Get it? Got it? Good.

First, take a bunch of your favorite fresh herb (as fresh as you can get. If you have some growing in your backyard, even better. No-weeds don’t count.) I chose a beautiful bunch of dill I got for dirt cheap at the Farmers Market
Photobucket

Next, chop up a fair amount-maybe 1 or 2 tablespoons worth. (oooo-blurry pic. Don’t strain your eyes!!)
Photobucket

Put the chopped herbs in a jar ( along with your favorite salad dressing ingredients. I used a bit of good olive oil (spanish, of course. I actually really like Goya Extra Virgin. From Andalucia!), some rice vinager, dijon mustard, kosher salt and pepper.
Photobucket

Shake. Vigorously. Until your arm hurts. No bicep curls needed tonight!
Photobucket

It should look like this when you’re done. All emulsified and yummy.
Photobucket

Pour it over your salad of choice full of the freshest veggies you can find. I’ve been using anything good I can find at the Farmers Market. Here I have carrots, radishes, baby fennel and arugula. Make sure you scrape every last bit of herb out of your jar onto that salad. Don’t make those bits of deliciousness go to waste!
Photobucket

There you have it. The secret to an amazing salad: fresh herbs. They really do make good salads that much better. This has been my go to dinner countless times this summer and I’ve been trying to buy different herbs every week to mix it up. So far I’ve done dill (duh), mint (soooo good!!), tarragon, cilantro and chives. They’re all winners. And so am I. Cause I’m blogging again.

10 Responses to “How to make an awesome salad awesomer-a photo essay”


  1. 1 VeggieGirl July 22, 2008 at 9:23 am

    You’re back!! Hooray!! Mmm, that salad is a wonderful way to make your blogging world comeback – looks wonderful!!

  2. 2 Jenn July 22, 2008 at 10:31 am

    Welcome back, Betsy! The salad and accompanying photo essay are very well done🙂

  3. 3 Lisa from CA July 22, 2008 at 3:42 pm

    Fresh herbs totally make my salads. Yours look beaaauuutiful! I didn’t realize that dill was so pretty! Instead of mixing it with my dressing, I chop it up and eat it like I do with spinach or lettuce. My personal favorite (mainly because of the constant appearance at my local farmer’s market) is thai basil.

    Yum yum! Viva la ensalada!

  4. 4 lindzakins921 July 22, 2008 at 4:32 pm

    yay – so excited/glad/happy you are back!!!!!!!!!! and this is such an amazing post – i want to eat this salad right off my laptop screen – if only that were possible🙂

    love your post title too hehe

  5. 5 cara July 22, 2008 at 10:45 pm

    great idea! Glad you are back!

  6. 6 melissa July 23, 2008 at 8:46 am

    That salad looks so amazing. The photo is gorgeous. I can’t wait to try it. Congrats on the Marine Corps! I almost signed up. I wish I had, I am definitely getting the urge to start training again! Maybe I’ll run into you in the park🙂

  7. 7 Anne P July 23, 2008 at 9:57 am

    Whole Foods and TJ’s both sell this amazing bagged salad mix called “Herb Salad mix” or something like that… it’s mixed green with all sorts of various fresh herbs mixed in, and it’s soooooooo amazing!! You should try it!

  8. 8 Heather July 23, 2008 at 10:05 am

    Welcome back! Gorgeous salad- good call with the dill, too… love me some dill🙂 Those pics make me want to go eat a big salad.

  9. 9 Kim July 23, 2008 at 9:22 pm

    Welcome back! Huzzah! You were missed.

    And what a simple-but-brilliant spin on classic vinaigrette. I always add in some spices, but never thought to toss in fresh herbs. Der.

  10. 10 MizFit July 27, 2008 at 5:40 pm

    welcome back AND impressive.

    I need to motivate beyond the “bag of salad with grilled chicken slapped on top”


Leave a Reply

