8 days before the GRE’s…an update

Photobucket

I can’t really study while watching the debate tonight, so I thought I would throw in a little update (my mom’s begging for it).

I’m taking the GRE’s a week from Saturday and am scared sh*tless. Yup. I have studied so many goddamn vocab cards, relearned how to do any math I learned in elementary and middle school and learned how to write an essay that only someone at the ETS would love. I’m ready to be done. So ready.

On another front-that marathon. Oh yeah-remember when I said I was training for a marathon-the Marine Corps Marathon to be specific? Well I was, up until last Thursday, the 18th (the day after my birthday, mind you). Let’s see…I got in a little mishap at work. A sign fell on my right big toe causing some serious damage. I ended up with a broken toe, a cut under my toe nail near the bed where I needed several stitches and my toe nail was removed. When I saw a doctor on Monday as a check up I mentioned to him that I was training for the marathon. He didn’t even give me false hope-just said that there were always more marathons. And one week later, all I have done is sit on my bum for 8 days because I can’t walk anywhere. UGH. I’m very frustrated by this whole situation and am ready to be able to walk again and be active. Being inactive is hell to me. I have another appointment next Tuesday with hopefully good news. Forget running a marathon-all I want to do is be able to do 10 minutes on a fricking elliptical machine!

Ok. I’m done. Back to the debate (does anyone else find Obama’s voice soothing? I have no problem announcing who my presidential candidate is). Hopefully I’ll be back next Saturday when I can throw my copious flash cards out the window. Peace.

10 Responses to “8 days before the GRE’s…an update”


  1. 1 VeggieGirl September 26, 2008 at 9:01 pm

    Good luck with the GRE’s!!! You’ll do great, Betsy!!

    Eeek, hope your poor foot heals 100%, a.s.a.p.!! Hang in there!!

    Hope your weekend is enjoyable!!

  2. 2 glidingcalm September 26, 2008 at 9:06 pm

    ahh BETSY!! So sorry bout your poor toe!! That looks so painful!!!
    I hope you feel better FAST. I sure do know how it feels to be inactive…. bloody awful!

    Good luck on your GREs as well!!

    I gotta get back to the debate too…and yes, Mccain’s voice really bothers me.

    Have a great weekend! Lots of ice and Aleeve!! (I need to be doing both right now!!)

    Take care Betsy!

  3. 3 Erin September 26, 2008 at 10:00 pm

    I love Obama’s voice. He could make a relaxation tape.
    GOOD LUCK ON THE GRE! What a horrible test. I hated it!

  4. 4 chandra September 26, 2008 at 10:17 pm

    Good luck on the GREs!! I can’t imagine being stuck on your bum, I feel so bad for you. 😦 I was super excited to see a post though!! Once again, good luck with the test and I hope the toe heals soon!

  5. 5 cara September 28, 2008 at 10:51 am

    I missed your updates. Good luck on the GRE’s I know you will do great🙂 Also, good luck with the toe situation. Ouch.

  6. 6 Alice (in Veganland) September 28, 2008 at 12:21 pm

    I’m SO sorry about your toe… But other marathons will come, your health is more important! And tons of luck with your GRE!

  7. 7 Erica September 29, 2008 at 7:42 am

    I am so sorry about your toe- that totally stinks! I hope you feel better!! Good luck on the GREs! you have a ton going on right now!!

  8. 8 Lisa from CA September 30, 2008 at 5:42 pm

    Ok our lives our some how mysteriously synced. Kind of.

    I’m taking the LSATs this Saturday! So, I FEEL your anxiety. GOOD LUCK. By the looks of this blog, you have the vocab and essay writing down, no prob.

    And I’m so sorry about your toe!!! I hope for a speedy (as speedy as you are able to run) recovery!

  9. 9 arielle October 1, 2008 at 12:30 pm

    I find Obama soothing in general.

    I’m glad I’m able to finally picture this broken toe. It looks worse than I thought, to be honest. I’m really sorry. Do you need Kate and I to carry you to the GREs?

  10. 10 rhodeygirltests October 2, 2008 at 3:54 pm

    Oh no! Betsy I am so sorry! You have had such terrible luck right before your races it is so unfair!

    I hope your toenail comes back soon, and that your toesie feels better! good luck at the gres!


Leave a Reply

