No Creativity Tonight, It’s Just White Bean & Olive Dip

Yikes. It’s very much a Thursday night. My brain is fried. My body is tired. And I’m about to write a post about something I made over 2 months ago. This is going to be interesting. Just bear with me…

Photobucket

If you have the most amazing memory in the world, then you probably remember when I made Baba Ghanoush a few months back. You don’t? Well, why didn’t you click on the link! Geez. Well, I did in an effort to use up all the veggies I kept buying at the Farmers Market. So, that one round of B.G. (totally my initials by the way) used of some of the veggies, but I just kept going back for more! The scent of fresh carrots in the morning are too alluring to me. I can’t resist. And I still can’t. I currently have a big bag of carrots (from the market), lots of kirby cucs and some tomatoes just waiting to be eaten. I think I have a problem with buying too many veggies. It’s a non-stop cycle-the more I buy and eat them, the more I want to keep buying and eating. Well, at least an addiction to fresh farmers market veggies is better than an addiction to Ginger-O’s. Or Almond Butter.

Anyway, back in the day (July?) I pulled a recipe for a white bean dip in a Martha Stewart from work that looked quite appetizing. It had white beans (love), olives (love) and pine nuts (love) so I thought it would be perfect for using up more veggies. So, I stole it from work (legal stealing this time) and headed off to the farmers market to load up on veggies (like I didn’t have enough) and Whole Foods for dip ingredients including an adventure with the olive bar. Ooooo Whole Foods Bowery, how I love thee. I came home and got cracking on some white bean and olive dip!

But, I didn’t really follow the recipe. It called for mayonnaise, I didn’t add that. It called for pine nuts (as I mentioned), I didn’t add those, for some reason. It called for cumin seeds (which I think could have made it spectacular), I didn’t add that. Those are three strong, powerful flavors that could have really impacted the dip in a good way. This is what I did add (all into a food processor): a drained can of white beans, about 1/4 of a cup of coarsely chopped kalamata olives, the juice of 1 lemon, a little bit of cayenne pepper, a few tablespoons of olive oil and some salt. A little blitz and there you go. Served with the aforementioned veggies (carrots, fennel, kirby cucs and tomatoes), all from the farmers market.

Photobucket

And the verdict? Well, the first time I had it for dinner, it was fantastic! Strongly flavored from the olives (I’m a huge olive fan), a little acidic from the lemon, slightly spicy from the cayenne and filling and smooth from the beans! Mmmm mmm mm. Paired with all my bountiful veggies, it was a hit. I was so excited! Something else to eat my veggies with! However, in true Betsy Cooks Healthy fashion, I made enough dip for several night’s dinners and things started going downhill fast after the initial meal. My second night, it wasn’t so great. I only at half my veggies with the dip, the rest I ate plain, cause I wasn’t into the dip. And the third night, I couldn’t eat even one bite. The pungent aroma and flavor of the olives made it smell and taste rotten. I know it wasn’t, but it was so off-putting, I had to throw it away! And I am not one to throw away food. I’m on a budget, remember?! Stupid olives. You messed with my dip! Or maybe me not following the recipe is what messed with my dip. This might be one to try again.

So, how am I doing on my veggie addiction? Not so good, still lots of veggies, excess purchases, overflowing bags of carrots and kirby cucs. The fact that it’s almost winter (whoa-talk about getting cold fast…anyone else??) is probably a good thing to help me save money because I don’t think cucumbers are grown in New York in January. Until then, no white bean and olive dip for me.

6 Responses to “No Creativity Tonight, It’s Just White Bean & Olive Dip”


  1. 1 Julz October 23, 2008 at 10:34 pm

    LOOOVE ME SOME RAW FENNEL🙂 SO good for the good ol’ GI too😉

  2. 2 VeggieGirl October 24, 2008 at 7:50 am

    Hooray for fantastic dips and VEGETABLES!!!🙂

    Happy Friday, Betsy!! Hope you got enough rest!!

  3. 3 Mom October 24, 2008 at 7:56 am

    It does sound delish….when you were a little girl your favorite vegtable was raw carrots. you ate so many we thought your nose had a slightly orange tint to it! I too have the problem of buying too many veggies at the farmers market.

  4. 4 Erin October 24, 2008 at 3:15 pm

    I LOVE that your mom reads your blog!
    This looks beautiful!

  5. 5 Sharon October 25, 2008 at 12:54 pm

    Hahah, I am addicted to almond butter myself.

    I wish I could enjoy olives, but I cannot really stand the smell of them for some reason. Even if they are topped off on a pizza, I can taste them, and have to pick them out. lol.

  6. 6 Lindsay October 26, 2008 at 12:26 pm

    mmmmmmmm yummy looking dip! i love white beans + olives – totally indulgent but healthy🙂

    awww love that your mom reads your blog!


Leave a Reply

