It’s An Unknown Mish Mosh

A mish mosh of random recipes, that is.

When going through all my photos, I realized I had several pics of foods and recipes that I made during my hiatus that I am never ever (ever) going to get around writing an individual post about. First, I don’t have that much time (working full time, writing grad school apps, sleeping, watching 30 Rock-I have priorities), and second, cause I don’t really remember what went into each of these. The descriptions are going to be a crapshoot. If you can figure it out and think something might taste good, go ahead and make one of these! If not, don’t!

Now…let’s see what I have…

Photobucket

Actually, this one isn’t too old, maybe a month. And I know what I put in it! It’s just a butternut squash that I chopped up and baked and mixed with a can of black beans. I wasn’t sure how the black beans were going to taste with the butternut squash, but it actually ended up being a really good combo. But the best part that when I baked the squash, I added a bunch of ground sage, which made it extra good. And it made it smell like Thanksgiving. I love sage. My mom hates it. It’s a good thing my mom doesn’t live with me.

Photobucket

Ooooo-this one was from a loooong time ago. I honestly have no idea what’s in it besides white beans on top of a sweet potato, but I know there’s more to it. I remember that I wanted to mix up my normal black beans on top of a baked sweet potato so I threw some white beans (probably cannolini beans) in a skillet, mashed them a bit and simmered them in some water and….other stuff. I’m sure spices and herbs were involved, but which, I have no idea. I’m sure if you wanted to try it, you could use whatever combo of spices and herbs you so desire if you want to try this, cause I think I remember this being good. I think…

Photobucket

Now this one was fantastic. I have no idea where I got this idea, but I remember reading about it somewhere. Sometime over the summer, during peak veggie season (mmmmm), I decided to dress up an average salad by making ribbons out of a fresh, raw zucchini and a carrot (or two). I then combined the ribbons with lemon juice and fresh tarragon, which is one of my favorite herbs. It was maybe the simplest thing I made all summer, but it was so fantastic and soooo refreshing. And the ribbons were crazy fun to eat. When is it going to be summer again? I miss it…

Photobucket

Well, here is the most mysterious of all. I know that the idea for this came from two places: the recipe for Goddess Garbanzos from Eat, Drink and Be Vegan and a chickpea salad in the salad bar at Whole Foods (one of my favorite places for recipe inspirations. I love walking around the salad and hot food bar when I’m bored to give myself ideas of kitchen concoctions. Always a winner-not winer, which I just typed). So, I made a chickpea salad with chickpeas (who would have thought of that ingredient!), carrots, edamame, and dried cranberries. The cranberries seem like an odd choice and that definitely came from the Whole Foods salad. I think I remember it being like a good addition (there’s a lot of “I think’s” in this post…hmmm), so I’d say keep it in if you decide to make this (ha!). The real question is what went in the dressing. I remember Annie’s Goddess dressing (I still have basically the entire bottle in the fridge, I’m not a big dressing person) and tahini. Anything else? I have no fricking clue, but I’m sure what wasn’t all. I do, however, remember that this was on the bland side. I think I’m going to revisit this again soon. Or you can (ha).

And that’s it, for random things I’ve made in the past few months that are never going to get their own post because I don’t really remember how I made them. Good luck. Have fun. Play around with one of these.

Until then, I’m going to peace out on the couch, watching iCarly (quality TV), relaxing after a busy and exhausting day marathon cheering uptown. Cause cheering for a marathon is almost as exhausting as running a marathon. I think…

5 Responses to “It’s An Unknown Mish Mosh”


  1. 1 Lindsay November 2, 2008 at 7:49 pm

    i love your mish-moshes!!! you are really creative with your combos – i think the ribbon idea is so pretty and i think the texture is so interesting🙂

    enjoy the rest of your night!

  2. 2 VeggieGirl November 2, 2008 at 8:14 pm

    Randomly delicious meals!!🙂

    iCarly = guilty pleasure. Not gonna lie.

  3. 3 Melissa November 2, 2008 at 9:29 pm

    Hi Betsy!

    Good to see you back. I am not sure if you caught any of the marathon, but I was inspired as always! Hope all is fabulous!

  4. 4 Melissa November 2, 2008 at 9:33 pm

    haha I just saw your comment! I’m glad you got to see it!!! I hear we are going to have a few nice days of weather, so I am going to try and get out for a few outdoor runs before I start wussing out!

  5. 5 Jen November 3, 2008 at 1:46 pm

    That looks so good!!!🙂


Leave a Reply

